数字化:亚洲经济保持前列

Digitalisation: Keeping Asia’s economy at the forefront

Digitalisation: Keeping Asia’s economy at the forefront
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.
亚洲经济包含49个国家、45亿人口—占世界总人口的60%左右。亚洲经济增长对全球贡献率达60%。亚洲在过去几十年经济增长速度一直领先于世界经济平均增速,人们也期盼亚洲发展的传奇持续下去。

国际货币基金组织(IMF)于2018年10月发布的《区域经济展望》中题为“亚洲处于最前沿:未来十年及以后的增长挑战”,预测亚洲经济2018年将增长5.6%,2019年增长5.4%。虽然人均收入仍远低于欧美,而且整个亚洲的财富在各个国家之间和内部都严重不均,不过许多亚洲国家已成功地转变为中等收入甚至是发达经济体。

区域领导大国—中国在制造业和外国直接投资拉动型增长基础上实现了历史性增长。国际货币基金组织的报告预测2018年中国增速为6.6%,2019年略微下降至6.2%。全球10亿人口俱乐部的另一个成员—印度,预测2018-2019财年增速为7.3%、2019-2020财年增速为7.4%,增长强劲。尽管油价上涨和货币政策紧缩,国际货币基金组织不得不略微下调印度最近的增长预测。

BASF Automated Guided Logistics Vehicle.
BASF Automated Guided Logistics Vehicle. Photo courtesy of BASF SE.


日本在2018年各季度的经济增长节奏不平衡,总的增长率低至1.1%,而东盟四国的印度尼西亚、马来西亚、菲律宾和泰国在2018年初失去动力之后,增长率也下调。但《区域性经济展望》显示,亚洲其他地区(包括小国和太平洋岛国经济体)下一年的增长率将达到4.1%。

毫无疑问,亚洲是全球经济发展的增长引擎,短期前景仍然乐观。然而新的迹象表明,全球同步复苏的前景开始暗淡。与其他地区相比,近期金融市场压力对亚洲的影响较小,但国际货币基金组织认为问题还是会来临—理由是亚洲经济面临的风险增加可能会对该地区的长期增长前景构成挑战。

特别是,国际货币基金组织的报告强调受美国利率上升导致全球金融紧缩、贸易紧张局势加剧以及政治和政策不确定性的影响,作为亚洲风险升高的关键问题。

6月15日,美国对价值500亿美元的输美产品征收25%的关税,迫使中国进行对等价值的报复。2019年1月,美国又对约2000亿美元的中国产品加征10%进口关税,并将于2019年1月1日起将税率提升至25%。中国再次对美国的进口产品征收关税,引发了美国政府的进一步威胁。这些针锋相对的贸易紧张局势使贸易成为增长的主要来源的亚洲变得脆弱。《2018年区域经济展望》显示,持续的贸易紧张可能会进一步降低信心、扰乱金融市场、破坏供应链,并阻碍投资和贸易。

国际货币基金组织的主要目的是确保国际货币体系稳定,预计如果所有拟征的关税得以实施,亚洲GDP可能下降0.9%。

Tencent Tower in Shenzhen.
Tencent Tower in Shenzhen. Photo courtesy of NBBJ.


国际货币基金组织的研究中发现了风险升高的其他几个关键问题—包括中国经济增长放缓,亚洲多国人口老龄化以及生产率增长放缓。韩国和新加坡等国家有家庭和公司债务过高等国内风险,澳大利亚和香港的房地产市场过热也很明显。

那么,中国和亚洲能采取哪些措施以应对上述短期和中期风险?该研究提出了各种政策建议,以应对这些挑战并保持增长前景。

中国应“保持货币政策宽松,而财政政策重点日益放在建立缓冲,汇率应保持灵活”,作为外部冲击的吸收器。在贸易紧张局势不断升级的情况下,笔者提出需要市场开放而不是封闭—以避免对增长造成严重后果—政策制定者应该考虑“开放自己的贸易和投资体制,特别是在服务业”。尽管该报告承认短期政策刺激可能抵消贸易关税的影响,但两年后贸易关税对中国产出的影响可能高达1.6%。尽管如此,对中国依赖贸易的中长期增长战略是否可行,目前仍有疑问。

报告中的一个重要建议是抓住数字革命带来的好处。技术进步可为生产力和增长带来巨大的好处。

可以说亚洲已成为数字化领域的开拓者。在过去20年中,亚洲近三分之一的人均增长来自数字创新。如果按照ICT(信息和通信技术)与GDP比率衡量,世界十大经济体中亚洲占七个,包括马来西亚、泰国和新加坡。

Amazon Spheres in Seattle.
Amazon Spheres in Seattle, WA. Photo courtesy of Joe Mabel.


亚洲的数字崛起是由腾讯等公司带头实现的。腾讯是2017年第一家市值超过5000亿美元的亚洲科技公司;互联网服务和人工智能(AI)公司—百度和阿里巴巴提供了各种电子商务和零售服务平台、云计算和人工智能技术、金融科技和在线支付平台。阿里巴巴于2018年6月的市值达到5420亿美元。

亚洲继续推动技术进步是明智的。尽管如此,国际货币基金组织警告说,数字化将“改变全球经济、大幅提高生产力并从根本上改变人类的生活和工作方式”,就像早期的工业革命大大改变了经济格局一样。亚洲在人工智能、机器人技术、密码学、数据和电子商务等方面的进步,为重塑全球经济和支持未来可持续增长提供了机遇。

然而,亚洲的数字加速并非没有社会风险。亚洲经济是建立在劳动密集型、出口导向型制造业基础之上的。新技术可以终结这一基础并扰乱全球价值链。部分研究对自动化对劳动力的影响特别关注。

国际货币基金组织的报告还警告说,数字化会“破坏竞争、货币政策、金融稳定和诚信以及消费者和投资者保护”,颠覆现有金融部门机构的商业模式。此外,随着电子商务平台的发展愈加呈现“赢家通吃”的趋势,反竞争问题和税基侵蚀日益受到关注。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Q1

Quarter One 2019, Volume 25, Issue 1

Click to view


ExxonMobil | FLM Medium Tile | 300×300

Digitalisation: Keeping Asia’s economy at the forefront

数字化:亚洲经济保持前列

Digitalisation: Keeping Asia’s economy at the forefront
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.

Four and a half billion people underpin the economy of Asia, from 49 different nation states. This equates to about 60% of the world’s population. The region also contributes 60% of the world’s economic growth. A remarkable rise over the past few decades has seen Asia become the forerunner in the global economy, with the Asian growth story expected to continue.

An October 2018 Regional Economic Outlook, released by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), entitled “Asia at the Forefront: Growth Challenges for the Next Decade and Beyond,” forecasts the Asian economy to grow at 5.6% in 2018 and 5.4% in 2019. While income per capita remains significantly lower than the United States and Europe, and the wealth throughout Asia differs extensively between, and within, individual nations, many Asian countries have successfully transitioned to middle-income and even advanced-economy rank.

Regional leader China has grown historically off the back of manufacturing and foreign direct investment-led growth. The IMF report predicts 6.6% growth for China in 2018, falling slightly to 6.2% in 2019. The other member of the world’s one billion inhabitants ‘club’ — India — is also anticipating strong growth of 7.3% in FY2018-19 and 7.4% in FY2019-20, though higher oil prices and monetary policy tightening has forced the IMF to slightly downgrade India’s recent growth forecast.

Japan’s economy has signposted a much lower 1.1% growth for 2018 following mixed quarterly outturns, while ASEAN-4 countries Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Thailand have also been subject to a downward revision after losing steam in early 2018. However, the Regional Economic Outlook suggests the rest of the Asia region, including small states and Pacific Island economies, should enjoy rising growth to 4.1% next year.

No doubt, Asia is the growth engine that is driving the global economy and the near-term outlook remains positive, however, signs are emerging that the gloss is beginning to fade on the synchronized global recovery. Recent financial market pressure has had a lesser impact on Asia compared to other regions, but IMF believes trouble could be just around the corner — citing increasing risks to the Asia economy that may challenge the region’s long-term growth prospects.

BASF Automated Guided Logistics Vehicle.
BASF Automated Guided Logistics Vehicle. Photo courtesy of BASF SE.

In particular, the IMF report highlighted global financial tightening, incited by higher U.S. interest rates, rising trade tensions, and political and policy uncertainty, as key issues elevating Asia’s risk profile.

The U.S. implemented a 25% tariff on USD50 billion of Chinese imports on June 15, forcing a similar value retaliation from China. A further USD200 billion of Chinese imports incurred 10% tariffs, rising to 25%, to January 2019. Again, China responded with tariffs on U.S. imports, prompting further threats from the U.S administration. These tit-for-tat escalating trade tensions leave Asia vulnerable, with trade a major source of growth. “Sustained trade tensions could further undermine confidence, hurt financial markets, disrupt supply chains, and discourage investment and trade,” according to the 2018 Regional Economic Outlook.

The IMF, who’s primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system, predicts the Asian GDP could drop by 0.9% if all proposed tariffs are implemented.

Several other key issues elevating risk were identified in the IMF research — including slowing momentum in China, an ageing population in several Asian countries, and slowing productivity growth. Domestic risks of high household and corporate debt in countries such as South Korea and Singapore, as well as inflated real estate markets in Australia and Hong Kong were also evident.

So, what can China and Asia do to address these short and medium term risks? The research offers a variety of policy recommendations to combat these challenges and maintain growth prospects.

Tencent Tower in Shenzhen.
Tencent Tower in Shenzhen. Photo courtesy of NBBJ.

China should “keep monetary policy accommodative, while fiscal policy will increasingly need to focus on building buffers, and exchange rates should be kept flexible” to act as a shock absorber. On escalating trade tensions, the authors promote the need to open rather than close markets — to avoid heavy consequences on growth — and policymakers should look at “liberalizing their own trade and investment regimes, particularly in the services sector.” The impact of trade tariffs on China’s output could be up to 1.6% over two years, though the report concedes that short-term policy stimulus may offset the impact. Though, questions remain on the viability of China’s trade-reliant growth strategy in the medium- to long-term.

One of the key recommendations in the report is to seize the benefits offered by the digital revolution. With technological advancement can come munificent benefits to productivity and growth.

It’s fair to say that Asia is already a trailblazer in the arena of digitalisation. Almost one-third of per-capita growth in Asia over the past 20 years has come from digital innovation, and Asia occupies seven of the world’s top 10 economies when measured by ICT (information and communications technology) to GDP ratio — including Malaysia, Thailand and Singapore.

Asia’s digital uprising has been spearheaded by companies such as Tencent, the first Asian technology company to surpass the market value of USD500 billion in 2017; internet services and artificial intelligence (AI) company Baidu, and Alibaba — who provides a variety of e-commerce and retail service platforms, cloud computing and AI technology, fintech and online payment platforms. Alibaba had a market cap of USD542 billion in June 2018.

Amazon Spheres in Seattle.
Amazon Spheres in Seattle, WA. Photo courtesy of Joe Mabel.

It seems sensible for Asia to continue to push forward with technological advances. Though, IMF cautions that digitalisation will “transform the global economy, substantially boost productivity, and fundamentally alter the way humans live and work,” much like earlier industrial revolutions dramatically altered the economic landscape. Asia’s advancements in AI, robotics, cryptography, data and e-commerce provide an opportunity to reshape the global economy and support future sustainable growth.

However, a digital acceleration in Asia is not without its societal risks. The Asian economy is built on a foundation of labour-intensive, export-led manufacturing. New technologies could up-end this foundation and disrupt global value chains. The labour impact of automation is of particular concern for some.

The IMF report also warns the potential disruption of business models of established financial sector institutions through digitalisation could “undermine competition, monetary policy, financial stability and integrity, and consumer and investor protection.” Further, as e-commerce platforms become increasingly large in “winner-take-all” dynamics, anti-competition concerns and tax base erosion are of increasing concern.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom