下游需求市场前景展望:全球需求增长超出预期目标

Downstream outlook: Global demand growth exceeds expectations

Downstream outlook: Global demand growth exceeds expectations
Photo courtesy of BP.
麦肯锡公司2018年8月发布的名为“全球下游需求领域市场前景展望”的麦肯锡能源视角报告显示,2017年,精炼产品日需求量增加了160万桶,超出市场预期值,而上一年度的增幅为每天120万桶。受全球经济复苏利好形式的影响,中国和欧洲经合组织的增长份额占比最高,分别达到40%和20%,尤其是在2017年下半年,同时生产能力也出现了小幅增长。

Global Refined Product Demand 2017-2030. Image courtesy of Global Energy Perspective.麦肯锡指出,工业和交通物流业的柴油/汽油需求量增加是实现这一超预期增长的重要推力。2016年,工业和交通物流业的柴油/汽油需求量下降,日降幅达12万桶(Kb/d),而2017年的需求量由降转升,增幅达500 Kb/d。全球炼油日生产总量为585 Kb/d,其中亚洲的产量达到500 Kb/d,贡献量最大的是中国和印度。“全球下游能源展望”还指出,墨西哥生产出现意外中断,导致美国和欧洲在2017年的市场供应量始终趋紧。

该报告还着重强调了亚洲的强劲表现,其利润在2017年增加了USD1.5/桶,不过该利润率在本年初出现了小幅下滑。良好的使用和利润率得益于强劲的产品需求增长势头。该报告还特别指出,在2017年下半年,交通运输燃料需求对东北亚轻度加氢利润产生的正面驱动效应最大。

欧洲炼化企业也从大幅改善的利润率中获得了好处,经过了2016年的平淡期后,每桶利润率平均上涨了约2.15美元,利用率达到了86%,是2006年以来的最高水平。在美国墨西哥湾沿岸地区,当地原油价格下降及其易得性推动了利润率的提升,促使当地炼化企业全力应对出口市场的需求。报告确认每桶普通轻质原油的裂化利润在2017年达到了大约3美元,比2016年出现了大幅上升。

能源视角对截止2020年的全球炼化行业形势持乐观态度,预计全球市场年平均增长率将达到1.3%。亚洲仍将是产能增加的推动力量,并且亚洲的绝大部分产能将于2019年投产。同时,世界上发展最快的亚洲国家也将继续拉动全球需求的增长。预计亚洲地区的炼化产品使用水平在2018年和2019年将与2017年持平,但受中间馏分油国际市场需求日益增大的影响,2020年有望出现提升。

2018年新投产产能预计2019年将会对欧洲能源枢纽产生影响,预计其降幅为10%。但是,随着国际海事组织推行的旨在控制船舶硫氧化物排放的MARPOL附则VI规范在2020年1月1日开始实施,欧洲炼化企业将从船用柴油的全球市场需求增长中获益,因此2020年预计会出现反弹。使用水平随着“轻度加氢产能定价的确定,有望增加至约~92%的水平。”

受全球良好需求前景的带动,美国墨西哥湾沿岸地区的市场使用水平有望在2018年和2019年出现轻微上涨。此外,国际海事组织将在2020年实施的新船用燃油规范预计将使用水平提升到90%以上。

2020年之后,炼化企业将面临更加严峻的形式。随着新技术的研发以及主要市场消费习惯的改变,2025年之后的“需求减少和最终下降”将给使用水平和利润率产生较大压力。

预计到2030年,亚洲的年平均增速可能会降至1.6%(p.a.),大大低于2010-2017年期间2-3%的年增长率。随着汽车保有量趋于饱和以及受汽车电动化趋势的影响,北美和欧洲的市场需求可能会在2020-2025年间出现下降,而欧洲受需求增长放缓和全球产能增加的影响,将从2020年出现逐渐下降的趋势。本报告作者认为交通运输行业的燃油需求将在2030年之前达到峰值,不过液体燃料需求量可能会到2037年达到峰值,之后化学和工业行业的需求增长将开始逐步放缓。

国际海事组织MARPOL附则VI要求到2020年1月,排放控制区外的船舶燃料的含硫量应低于0.5%,而当前的规定限值为3.5%。该规范的实施有望“提升全球炼化产品使用率,导致馏分油市场收紧,并进一步扩大轻油-重油差异,因此有可能会大幅提升利润率,尤其是高转化率炼化企业将有更好的利润率。”能源视角指出,该规范的实施将对船舶使用的高硫燃料油造成约3 MMb/d的影响,几乎为船运业用油量的80%。

Global Liquids Demand. Image courtesy of Global Energy Perspective.天然气凝析液(即天然气处理获取的丙烷、丁烷和石脑油)到2025年在产品供应中的占比预计会达到10%,而其他生物燃料、裂解汽油、天然气转合成燃料(GTL)/煤转合成燃料(CTL)和甲基叔丁基醚等其他非油产品的市场需求将继续上升,因此原油产品的市场需求会持续出现轻微下滑。能源视角预测,受美国轻质油或非常规油产量不断增加的影响,到2030年轻质原油(>35 API)的份额将达到3%。

炼油产能的增加得益于亚洲和中东几个大型项目的投产,另外,其他几个绿地投资正处于规划阶段,主要包括土耳其的214-Kb/d阿利阿炼厂和尼日利亚的500-Kb/d绿地炼厂。转化能力的趋势日益明显,预计到2020年原油馏分产能增长率将翻番,这将提升总体评价复杂程度和轻质产品产量。

国内运输需求降低将会促使北美地区的转型,从2017年的汽油纯进口方,到2025年后将转为纯出口方。中国、印度和东南亚地区供应缺口不断增大,使亚洲在2020年后成为纯进口方。2020年后,中东地区将占据第三大出口地区的位置,大部分产品销往南亚和东南亚。

到2030年,亚太地区和非洲的纯馏分油将出现最大幅增长。能源视角预计,受印度、东南亚和大洋洲需求量增加的影响,亚洲的柴油/汽油的净亏损额将从2017年到2030年出现75 Kb/d的轻微增长,在此期间,非洲的涨幅将达到400Kb/d,这主要得益于美国墨西哥湾沿岸地区、中东和印度的供给。到2030前,中东和前苏联仍将是最大净出口方,但2025年之后,国内消耗量减少将降低欧洲的纯进口量。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2019 and ALMU AGM | Tower | 300×600

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Q1

Quarter One 2019, Volume 25, Issue 1

Click to view


IPAC 2600 Series | FLD Medium Tile Top | 300×300

Downstream outlook: Global demand growth exceeds expectations

下游需求市场前景展望:全球需求增长超出预期目标

Downstream outlook: Global demand growth exceeds expectations
Photo courtesy of BP.

Refining demand growth has exceeded market expectations with 1.6 million barrels per day (MMb/d) of product demand added in 2017 compared to 1.2 MMb/d the previous year, according to McKinsey Energy Insights report on the ‘Global Downstream Outlook’ published in August 2018 by McKinsey & Company. China (40%) and OECD Europe (20%) have delivered the lion’s share of the growth, which has been attributed to a broad global economic recovery — particularly in the second half of 2017, and a modest rise in capacity.

Global Refined Product Demand 2017-2030. Image courtesy of Global Energy Perspective.McKinsey identified diesel/gasoil demand increases in the industrial and transport logistics sectors as influential — the 2016 decline of 120 thousand barrels per day (Kb/d) supplanted by 500 Kb/d growth in 2017. Asia contributed almost 500 Kb/d of new distillation capacity out of a global total of 585 Kb/d, the majority of which occurred in China and India. The ‘Global Downstream Outlook’ also noted that unplanned disruptions in Mexico, the U.S., and Europe kept market supply tight throughout 2017.

The report highlighted strong performance in Asia as margins rose USD1.5/barrel in 2017, though these margins have dipped slightly at the start of this year. Favourable utilisation and margins are the results of strong product growth. In particular, the report observes transport fuels demand driving positive hydroskimming margins in Northeast Asia for most of the second half of 2017.

European refiners also benefitted from strong margins — rising on average by ~USD2.15/barrel after an uninspiring 2016 — and utilization rates (86%) were at the highest level since 2006. On the U.S. Gulf Coast (USGC), cheaper and readily available local crude helped boost margins and left USGC refiners working tirelessly to meet export market demand. The report confirmed cracking margins for light sweet crude were up ~USD3/ barrel in 2017 compared with 2016.

A positive outlook was offered for global refining to 2020, Energy Insights predicting an average annual increase in global demand of 1.3%. Capacity increases will continue to be driven by Asia, the majority of which come online in 2019, and the world’s fastest-growing economies from Asia will continue to propel global demand growth. Asia’s 2018 and 2019 refining utilisation will remain consistent with 2017 performance, a further increase expected in 2020 owing to high distillate demand globally.

New refining capacity added in 2018 is expected to impact European hub utilisation in 2019, with a forecast fall of 10%. However, a 2020 rebound is anticipated as European refiners benefit from a global increase in marine gasoil demand following the implementation of the International Maritime Organization’s (IMO) MARPOL Annex VI regulation from January 1, 2020, that seeks to cut sulfur emissions in the shipping industry. Utilisation will “likely rise to ~92% with hydroskimming capacity setting prices on the margin.”

USGC market utilization is projected to rise slightly in 2018 and 2019, based on a strong outlook for global demand. The aforementioned new bunker fuel specifications in 2020 are expected to boost utilization above 90%.

Beyond 2020, a somewhat bleaker picture is emerging for refiners. A “deceleration and eventual decline in demand” will place pressure on utilization and margins from 2025 with new technologies and changes to consumer behaviour the key drivers.

Growth in Asia is expected to decelerate to an average 1.6% per annum (p.a.) to 2030, significantly lower than the 2-3% p.a. observed from 2010-2017. North America and European demand is likely to fall between 2020-2025, driven by peak car ownership and electrification. Europe faces progressive declines in utilization from 2020 due to slowing demand growth and growing global capacity. The report’s authors signposted that transport sector oil demand will peak before 2030, although total liquids demand is not expected to summit until 2037, at which point demand growth in the chemical and industrial sectors will begin to slow.

IMO’s MARPOL Annex VI regulation requires ships outside the emission control area (ECA) regions to operate on fuels with less than 0.5% sulfur content by January 2020. The current limit is 3.5%. The rollout is expected to “increase global refining utilization, tighten distillate markets, and widen light-heavy differentials, bringing the potential for a very sharp improvement in margins, especially for high-conversion refiners.” Energy Insights suggests the regulation will impact ~3 MMb/d of high-sulfur fuel oil demand in bunkers — a staggering~80% of the shipping sector fuel demand.

Global Liquids Demand. Image courtesy of Global Energy Perspective.Share of product demand met by crude oil will decline slightly moving forward as NGLs (i.e., propane, butane, and light naphtha from gas processing) are forecast to account for 10% of total product supply by 2025, and other non-oil sources such as biofuels, pygas, CTL/GTL, and MTBE — will also continue to rise. Energy Insights projects a 3% shift to light crude grades (>35 API) by 2030 — attributed to growing U.S. light tight oil (LTO) or unconventional oil production.

An increase in distillation capacity is the result of a few big projects in Asia and the Middle East, however, several other greenfield investments are planned including Turkey’s 214-Kb/d Aliaga refinery and Dangote’s 500-Kb/d greenfield refinery in Nigeria. Conversion capacity is the more prominent trend though, with twice the rate of distillation capacity growth anticipated to 2020 — which will improve overall average complexity and light product yield.

A drop in domestic transport demand will result in North America transitioning from a net gasoline importer in 2017 to a net exporter post-2025. Growing shorts in China, India, and Southeast Asia will result in Asia converting to a net importer after 2020. The Middle East will assume the position of the third-largest gasoline exporting region from 2020, with the majority of products equipping South and Southeast Asia.

Asia-Pacific and Africa will witness the largest increase in net distillate imports by 2030. Energy Insight predicts Asia’s diesel/gasoil net deficit will grow slightly by 75 Kb/d from 2017 to 2030, attributed to higher demand in India, Southeast Asia and Oceania. Africa will experience a more substantial increase in net imports of 400Kb/d between 2017-2030, courtesy of USGC, Middle East, and India’s supply. The Middle East and the Former Soviet Union will continue to be the largest net exporters by 2030, while lower domestic consumption will reduce European net imports beyond 2025.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom