电动车是大势所趋:竞争优势不是汽车,而是工厂

Electric vehicle supremacy: It’s about the factory, not the car

Electric vehicle supremacy: It’s about the factory, not the car
Photo courtesy of Volkswagen AG.
2018年2月7日, Elon Musk对华尔街分析师说:“从长远角度看,特斯拉的竞争优势不是汽车,而将是工厂。“在电话中,他谈到了简化制造、提高自动化程度 — 越来越多地使用机器人,以及提高装配线的密度。Musk相对来说是汽车制造领域的新人, 他暗示现有制造商“只是没有意识到需要改进的空间有多大,大到超乎他们的想象。”

在下一代汽车的生产方面,特斯拉是否真的能成为领先者?投资者当然认为是。截至2018年12月4日,这个总部位于美国加利福尼亚州帕洛阿尔托的公司市值为617.7亿美元。据Macro-Trends估计,即使100多年来在运输和技术制造领域的领导者 — 通用汽车(GM),以及美国著名汽车品牌如雪佛兰、别克和吉姆西等生产商,其市值也不过515.4亿美元,远不及特斯拉。

2018年第三季度,特斯拉全球交付汽车83,500辆。尽管与2017年同期相比下降了11.1%,但通用汽车报告其仅在美国市场就交付了694,638辆。考虑到其广为人知的生产问题,特斯拉的价值似乎是品牌和车辆,而不是工厂。但对于投资者,旧的不去新的不来,他们认为特斯拉定位未来发展方向 — 电气化是适当的,那些守旧者反应太慢、无法适应。

毫无疑问,高效和现代化的生产设施对于这种电动车之争的成功至关重要。但是最近成熟的汽车制造商纷纷改造他们的工厂并大规模制造电动汽车。上述举动表明,他们应对这一挑战绰绰有余。

德国汽车制造商大众集团(Volkswagen Group)最近宣布,改造位于德国茨维考(Zwickau)的主要内燃机(ICE)工厂,专用于生产电动汽车(EV)。该高科技工厂将成为集团最大的电动汽车工厂,并在整个生产链中生产零排放二氧化碳的汽车。

因在官方排放测试中汽车上安装了作弊的减效装置(defeat device),大众为此支付了高达147亿美元的和解费。大众集团一直急于树立一个有环保意识的公司和技术领导者的声誉。茨维考开发项目的目标产量为每年330,000个电动型车。大众汽车电子移动委员会成员Thomas Ulbrich表示:“将茨维考转变为头号电子移动工厂,表达了我们对国内市场的坚定承诺”。

大众首款基于新型模块化电动工具包(MEB)的电动车型ID.1,约12个月后将在高尔夫和高尔夫旅行车型的原址上投产。2021年以后,工厂将生产三个集团品牌、六个电动车型。Ulbrich说:MEB充分发挥了电子移动的优势,“续航里程更长、空间更宽敞和新增数字化服务更多”。

他补充道:然而,茨维考只是“我们发起全球电动攻势的起点”。作为备受瞩目的电动路线图的一部分,该公司将从2025年开始每年生产100万辆电动汽车。埃姆登和汉诺威的工厂也将转向制造电动汽车。大众汽车人力资源委员会成员Gunnar Kilian说:“这两座城市加上茨维考,将构建欧洲最大的电动汽车生产网络”。埃姆登和汉诺威将分别于2021年和2022年,在制造传统动力汽车的同时开始生产电动汽车。

中国显然是全球电动车销售的领跑者。中国的上海安亭和广东佛山正在建设两个大众纯电动车(MEB)工厂。最近的工厂扩建使佛山的产能翻了一番—达到每年60万辆,其中的汽车逐渐实现电气化。纯电动车及其电池系统的生产将于2020年开始。

安亭一个占地面积为610,000平方米的生产工厂将采用工业4.0标准机器人以及一系列数字技术,包括人工智能(AI)、增强现实(AR)和虚拟现实(VR)。该工厂将成为大众汽车集团中国第一家专门作为纯电动车平台的工厂。

大众集团还表示计划在北美生产纯电动(MEB)车,但地点细节尚待确认。

尽管大众集团雄心勃勃地要实施电气化,Musk和他的一举一动已是媒体的绝对焦点,你如果相信现任者不在特斯拉的棒球场,这是情有可原的。但也许他们只是在等待真正的游戏开始、榨取赚钱的汽油和柴油动力业务——同时等待电池成本下降、收费基础设施改善和规模经济成型?

Internal Combustion Engine vs Battery Electric Vehicle.
Image courtesy of Volkswagen AG.


领先的原始设备制造商开始为其丰富的财务资源、数十年的制造技术和全球销售网络而自鸣得意。从2020年起,资源正逐步用于车型可盈利的大规模生产。有些专家认为,专业知识和全球联系相结合,将使传统汽车制造商更快、更高效地进行扩展,从而提供满足客户喜好的各种车型。

今年7月,德国跨国公司宝马公司宣布在匈牙利德布勒森附近成立第一家从事电动汽车制造的工厂。“投资约10亿欧元(相当于11.4亿美元)”将使年产能达到150,000辆。选择相对较小的匈牙利城市,是看中了其坚实的基础设施、物流连接以及接近成熟供应商网络。宝马公司主管生产的董事Oliver Zipse先生表示:新工厂将生产ICE和电动宝马车,这项专业知识将推广到所有工厂,为我们的全球生产网络提供“更强大的生产能力”。

它当然是一个全球网络。宝马在137个市场销售ICE汽车、在74个市场销售电动汽车。这个全球经销网络既难以复制,而且也可能被投资者低估。

对于具有全球抱负的汽车制造商来说,中国—世界上最大的汽车市场—制造是至关重要的。特斯拉多年来一直想在中国建厂。10月,该公司正式宣布与上海政府达成土地协议,建立其中国超级工厂。该厂址开工后,特斯拉提供了两年的投产时间表。该工厂建成后每年可生产50万辆汽车,特斯拉的全球总制造能力将超过7位数。

英国真空清洁公司—戴森(Dyson)也出手在即。该技术公司认为其电池专业知识将转化为汽车生产能力,并准备于2018年12月在新加坡设制造工厂,生产电动汽车。这座两层高的专用工厂计划于2020年完工并于2021年推出汽车。James Dyson对电动汽车的愿景能否落实以及他在技术和生产方面的27亿美元投资能否转化为对现有汽车制造商挑战的全球成功,仍有待观察。

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Electric vehicle supremacy: It’s about the factory, not the car

电动车是大势所趋:竞争优势不是汽车,而是工厂

Electric vehicle supremacy: It’s about the factory, not the car
Photo courtesy of Volkswagen AG.

On 7 February 2018, Elon Musk told Wall Street analysts “the competitive strength of Tesla, long-term, is not going to be the car. It’s going to be the factory.” During the call, he spoke of simplifying manufacturing, improving automation — with an increasing use of robots, and increasing density on the assembly line. Despite being a relative newcomer into the auto manufacturing game, Musk suggested existing manufacturers “just don’t realise just how much potential there is for improvement. It’s way more than they think.”

But is Tesla really ahead of the game when it comes to the production of the next generation of automobiles? Investors certainly seem to think so. As of 4 December 2018 the Palo Alto, California, U.S.A.-based company had a market cap of USD61.77 billion. General Motors (GM), a leader in the manufacture of transportation and technology for more than 100 years and producer of popular U.S. brands such as Chevrolet, Buick, and GMC, had a notably smaller market cap of USD51.54 billion, according to Macro-Trends.

In the third quarter of 2018, Tesla delivered 83,500 vehicles worldwide. Despite an 11.1% decrease versus the same period in 2017, GM reported 694,638 deliveries in the U.S. market alone. Considering its well-publicised production issues, Tesla’s value seems to be in the brand and the vehicle, as opposed to the factory. For investors though, it is out with the old and in with the new, deeming Tesla appropriately positioned for an electrified future, and the old guard too slow to adapt.

No doubt, efficient and modern production facilities will be vital to the success or otherwise of this electric vehicle arms race. However, recent moves by established automakers to revamp their factories to manufacture electric cars at scale suggest they are more than up to the challenge.

German automaker Volkswagen Group recently announced the transformation of a major internal combustion engine (ICE) factory in Zwickau, Germany, to cater exclusively for electric vehicle (EV) production. The high-tech plant will become the Group’s largest EV factory and will produce cars with a neutral CO2 balance throughout the entire production chain.

Since the USD14.7 billion settlement for cheating emissions tests by installing “defeat devices” into automobiles, Volkswagen has been in a hurry to build a reputation as an environmentally conscious company and technology leader. The Zwickau development will have a target capacity of 330,000 electric models per annum. “The transformation of Zwickau into the number one e-mobility plant expresses our strong commitment to our home market,” said Volkswagen E-Mobility Board Member Thomas Ulbrich.

Production of the ID.1, Volkswagen’s first electric model based on a new modular electric toolkit (MEB), will commence in approximately 12 months at the former home of the Golf and Golf Estate models. From 2021, the factory will produce six electric models of three Group brands. MEB unlocks the full potential of e-mobility, offering “longer ranges, more space and a variety of new digital services,” says Ulbrich.

However, Zwickau is just the “starting point for our global electric offensive,” he adds. As part of the much-vaunted Roadmap E., the company is building capacity for one million electric cars per year from 2025. Factories in Emden and Hanover will also be converted to build electric cars. “Together with Zwickau, they will form the largest network for the production of electric vehicles in Europe,” said Volkswagen HR Board Member Gunnar Kilian. Emden will initiate production of electric vehicles in 2021, Hanover by 2022, alongside the manufacture of conventionally powered vehicles.

China is the clear frontrunner in global EV sales. The creation of two Volkswagen MEB plants is underway in China, at Anting/Shanghai and Foshan. A recent plant expansion has doubled the capacity at Foshan to 600,000 vehicles per year, with automobiles there gradually being electrified. Production of MEB vehicles and MEB battery systems is due to begin by 2020.

A 610,000 square meter production plant in Anting will feature Industry 4.0 standard robots, plus a range of digital technologies including artificial intelligence (AI), augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR). The facility will be Volkswagen Group China’s first factory specifically intended for the MEB platform.

Volkswagen has also indicated plans to manufacture MEB vehicles in North America, with location details yet to be confirmed.

Despite Volkswagen’s ambitious assault on electrification, with the requisite media attention afforded to Musk and his every move, you could be forgiven for believing the incumbents are not in Tesla’s ballpark. But perhaps they have simply been biding their time, waiting for the real game to start, milking their cash generating petrol and diesel-powered businesses — all the while waiting for battery costs to fall, charging infrastructure to improve and economies of scale to kick in?

Internal Combustion Engine vs Battery Electric Vehicle.
Image courtesy of Volkswagen AG.

Leading OEMs are now beginning to flaunt their plentiful financial resources, decades of manufacturing know-how, and global sales networks. Resources are steadily being directed into profitable mass production of models from 2020 onwards. Some experts believe the combination of expertise and global contacts will allow traditional auto manufacturers to scale more quickly and efficiently, and in turn, deliver a wide range of models that will satisfy customer preferences.

In July, German Multinational BMW announced its first factory built from the ground up to manufacture electric vehicles, near Debrecen, Hungary. An “approximately EUR1 billion (USD1.14 billion)” investment will deliver a capacity of up to 150,000 units a year. The relatively small Hungarian city was chosen for its strong infrastructure, logistics connections and proximity to an established supplier network. The new plant will produce both ICE and electrified BMW models, an expertise that will be extended to all of its factories moving forward providing “greater capacity to our worldwide production network,” says BMW AG Board Member for Production, Oliver Zipse.

And it certainly is a worldwide network. BMW sells ICE vehicles in 137 markets and electrified cars in 74. It is this global distribution network that is difficult to replicate and is perhaps undervalued by investors.

For automakers with global aspirations, manufacturing in China — the world’s largest car market — is fundamental. Tesla has been pursuing a Chinese factory for years. In October, the company officially announced a land deal with the Shanghai government to build its Chinese gigafactory. Tesla offered a two-year timeline for beginning production once construction of the site commences. The plant has capacity for 500,000 vehicles per year, tipping Tesla’s total global manufacturing capacity over seven figures.

Even U.K. vacuum cleaning company Dyson is getting in on the action. The technology company believes its battery expertise will translate into automotive proficiency and will commence construction of a Singapore manufacturing facility to produce electric vehicles in December 2018. The two-storey, purpose-built facility is scheduled for completion in 2020, for a 2021 vehicle launch. Whether James Dyson’s vision for an electric car and his USD2.7 billion investment in technology and production will translate into global success against existing automakers remains to be seen.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Magazine 2019 Q4 | Medium Tile | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2019, Volume 25, Issue 4

Click to view