乙烯胺:行业观察

Ethylene amines: An insight

Ethylene amines: An insight
By Kapil Shyam Lokare, PHD.

可再生能源已从新兴商机转变为行业主流,而行业也面临着成本、质量、复杂性和规模等方面的模式转变——同时这也为各种新技术和运营模型的开发创造了机会。工业产能步入新阶段还需要实施进一步的变革,不止是在实验室方面,还包括战略、技术和运营层面。许多组织倾向于将着重点从非化石能源运输燃料转向更具体的化学品。

目前的理念是推崇生物基化学品在行业内的应用,其中一个选项便是乙烯胺,其市场价值超过20亿美元。另外,各行业对树脂、纸张、汽车、黏合剂、水处理、农药、制药、个人护理用品、纺织化学品等的大量需求,将进一步推动乙烯胺消耗量的增加。全球乙烯胺市场的主要企业包括阿克苏诺贝尔公司(荷兰)、亨斯迈公司(美国)、陶氏化学公司(美国)、巴斯夫公司(德国)、东曹株式会社(日本)、德拉明公司(荷兰)、Diamines化学公司(印度)。

2010年,Zamil集团和亨斯迈公司各出资50%组建了阿拉伯合成胺公司,这一合成胺化学工厂位于沙特阿拉伯Jubail工业城,其规模和产能均达到世界级水平。该厂所需的原材料全部来自在Jubail工业城运营的公司。二氯乙烯(EDC)和苛性钠来自沙特阿拉伯化工公司(SADAF)。氨来自沙特阿拉伯化肥公司(SAFCO),采用哈伯法制成。国家工业天然气公司(GAS)提供工厂所需的氮,而工厂运营所需的燃料由沙特阿美提供,并与绿洲石化公司共享工厂冷却所需的海水。

阿克苏诺贝尔特种化学公司发布了最新公告。阿拉伯合成胺公司和阿克苏诺贝尔特种化学公司拥有各自独特的工艺方法,具有比较的价值。

2018年6月,阿克苏诺贝尔特种化学公司的示范工厂已经破土动工,这一工厂是展示乙烯胺和氧化乙烯衍生物生产的创新性可持续技术平台。该工厂坐落于瑞典的斯泰农松德,标志着其向专利技术商业化又迈进了一步。

与现有工艺相比,这一新技术将大幅降低原材料消耗,并会极大提升成本和环境效益。该技术的灵活性可生产大范围的终端产品,使得公司能够扩大胺产品的供应范围。新技术平台的乙烯胺目标产品范围包括二亚乙基三胺(DETA)和三乙四胺(TETA),此类产品是环氧固化剂(用于风机加工)、润滑油添加剂和油田化学品添加剂等各类应用的关键性基础材料。阿克苏诺贝尔特种化学公司目前运营着两座工程,分别位于斯泰农松德和中国宁波。

Production of Ethylene Amine. © Dr. Kapil Shyam Lokare 2018.

目前,乙烯胺生产主要有两种方式。一种是乙醇胺在加氢-脱氢催化剂的作用下与氨发生反应。第二种方式是二氯乙烯(EDC)与氨反应。阿克苏诺贝尔在欧洲运营的两座乙烯胺工厂分别采用了上述的工艺。上述生产方式介绍见附件1。

具体可行性取决于乙醇和氨的生产情况。根据《公共和私有估算的RFA分析》披露的数据,乙醇的全球年产量为245.7亿加仑。氨的全球产量居第二位(仅次于硫磺酸,年产量超过2亿吨)。

尽管全球的乙醇产量并不是关注重点,氨却需要进一步观察。氨生产需要消耗大约2%的全球化石燃料,同时每年大约会产生超过4.2亿吨的二氧化碳。大约80%的氨用于化肥生产,约有5%用于炸药制作,剩余部分用于其他化学产品生产。氨作为燃料的性能无需质疑(20世纪六十年代,氨和液氧双燃料驱动了美国国家航空航天局的X-15高超音飞行器的风速和高度创纪录飞行)。氨的生产是一个高耗能、高碳的哈伯-博施工艺,作业温度需要达到450–500°C,作业压力高达200巴。该工艺的原料是天然气中的氢、煤和油、以及通过低温路径和变压吸附方法从空气中取得的氮气。在全球的氨生产中,天然气、煤和燃料油在原料中的占比分别为72%、22%和4%,每年将产生近4.2亿吨的二氧化碳排放,在全球能源相关排放中的占比超过1%。氨合成的能源消耗主要取决于地区、工厂规模和氢的来源(原料)。根据最佳生产惯例,生产每吨氨消耗的天然气、煤和燃料油量分别为7.8、10.6和11.7 MWh,而对应的二氧化碳排放量分别为1.6吨、3.0吨和3.8吨。工业生产力研究所发布了工业效能技术数据库,根据当地原料用途,为各地的生产商建立了生产每吨氨产生的二氧化碳排放标准。

在当前可持续性不断提升的大趋势下,氨生产可在生产过程中使用可再生能源替代化石燃料,当前这并不属于新工艺。之前,许多水力发电厂使用电解生成氢作为原料进行氨合成。但是,受天然气价格下降和当地电力需求增加的影响,许多水力发电厂已经关闭或者转向采用天然气作为原料进行氨合成。许多最早期的氨厂只使用水力发电从水和空气中获取氨。自挪威在1928年首次成功使用水力发电生产氨以来,已建立了多家大型电解制氢设施。截止20世纪七十年代,印度、埃及、津巴布韦、秘鲁、冰岛和加拿大的工厂都使用电解氢生产化肥,其中最大的设施是位于埃及的180兆瓦工厂。到1998年,全球范围内仅有七家使用水力发电生产氨的设施仍在运营,其产能约占全球氨产量的0.5%。

过去50年来,很少有项目使用风力发电进行氨生产。从20世纪六十年代早期开始,美国陆军通过一项名为“能源库概念”的方案对使用风力发电进行氨生产展开了调查。到20世纪七十年代,Lockheed加利福尼亚公司和美国国家科学基金会对使用独立风电系统进行氨生产开展了广泛的探索。美国陆军和Lockheed/美国国家科学基金发现可以利用风电进行氨生产,但没有建立风电制氨示范厂,也没有对建立风电制氢厂的经济可能性进行任何深入讨论。

Ethylene amines: An insight可再生氨合成工艺使用电解方法生产氢,所需的电力来自太阳能光伏发电、风力发电和潮汐发电等可再生资源。经过空分装置处理的氢气和氮气压缩至要求的合成压力,然后注入哈伯-博施合成反应器。制氨成本和本方法所需的能源输入主要取决于电解机资本成本和运营(电力输入)成本。本方法的能源消耗建议范围为每公斤氨10–12 kWh。请注意,电解水制氢所需的理论电力输入值为7 KWh/公斤氨(7 MWh吨–1),但受电解器组件电阻、极化和系统损失等因素的影响,实际电力输入要比理论值高。当前纯运营效率在65–70%的发电电解器生产1.0公斤的氢需要48–55 kWh的可再生能源输入,与天然气制氢所需的能源输入类似(45–50 kWh kg–1氢)。

近期的工业案例展示了此类概念的应用,并且目前正处于全面运营中。Casale、Haldor Topsoe、ThyssenKrupp和 KBR正在开发氨合成技术与可再生电解剂相结合的设计。目前,绿色制氨拥有较明朗的商业前景。但是,如果忽略乙烯胺生产商和开发新型可持续氨生产方式的四家公司未来组建合资企业的可能性,显然也是也是不明智的。

实际问题是:氨和相关化学品能否实现无碳化?氨分子不含碳,但是它是从化石燃料中产生的。如果我们无法减少氨的碳足迹,氨燃料实现全球经济无碳化的潜力很小。但是,如果碳生产可以降低或消除碳排放,其便可以成为无碳燃料,并可作为全球工业、交通和电力行业深度脱碳的蓄能介质。在这一大背景下,四家氨合成技术授权方目前都在致力于绿色氨生产,这是一个可喜的局面。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 3 2019

Quarter Three 2019, Volume 25, Issue 3

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Ethylene amines: An insight

乙烯胺:行业观察

Ethylene amines: An insight

By Kapil Shyam Lokare, PHD.

As renewables are moving from niche to mainstream, the industry is facing a paradigm shift in cost, quality, complexity, and scale — creating opportunities to develop new and different technologies and operating models. Achieving the next phase of the industry potential will require a further revolution, not only in the laboratory but also in strategy, technology and operations. Some of these organisations have preferred to pivot from focusing on transportation fuels from non-fossil resources towards more tangible chemicals.

The idea today is to prioritize bio-based chemical applications in industries. One such sector is ethylene amines with a market worth more than USD 2,000 million. High demand across the industries, such as resin, paper, automotive, adhesive, water treatment, agro-chemical, pharmaceutical, personal care, textile chemical, etc. is expected to boost ethylene amine consumption. The key players in the global ethylene amines market are Akzo Nobel N.V. (The Netherlands), Huntsman Corporation (U.S.A.), The Dow Chemical Company (U.S.A.), BASF S.E. (Germany), Tosoh Corporation (Japan), Delamine (The Netherlands), Diamines & Chemical Limited (India).

In 2010, a 50-50 joint venture between the Zamil Group and Huntsman to form the Arabian Amines Company (AAC) resulted in a world scale ethylene amine facility in Al-Jubail Industrial City, Saudi Arabia. The feedstock required by the plant is supplied entirely by companies operating in Jubail Industrial City. The ethylene dichloride (EDC) and caustic soda are sourced from the Saudi Arabia Petrochemical Company (SADAF). Ammonia came from the Saudi Arabian Fertilizer Company (SAFCO), which was made by the traditional Haber-Bosch Process. National Industrial Gases Company (GAS) provided the nitrogen required by the plant. Fuel required by the plant was provided by Saudi ARAMCO. Sea water for cooling the plant is shared with Al Waha Petrochemical Company.

A more recent announcement came from AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals. The two, Arabian Amines Company and AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals, are unique in their approach and worth comparing.

In June 2018, AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals broke ground on a demonstration plant to showcase a revolutionary and more sustainable technology platform for producing ethylene amines and their derivatives from ethylene oxide. Located at its Stenungsund site in Sweden, the facility marks the next step towards commercialization of the patented technology.

The new technology will significantly reduce raw material consumption and substantially improve costs and environmental performance compared to existing processes. The flexibility of the technology will allow selective production of a wide range of end products, enabling the company to expand its amines product offering. The range of ethylene amines targeted by the new technology platform includes diethylenetriamine (DETA) and triethylenetetramine (TETA), which are key building blocks in a number of growth applications such as epoxy curing agents (for wind turbine fabrication), lube oil additives, and oil field chemicals. AkzoNobel Specialty Chemicals is currently operating two plants, in Stenungsund and in Ningbo, China.

Production of Ethylene Amine. © Dr. Kapil Shyam Lokare 2018.Currently, manufacturing ethylene amines is dominated by two routes. One involves the reaction of monoethanolamine (MEA) and ammonia in the presence of a hydrogenation-dehydrogenation catalyst. The second involves reacting ethylene dichloride (EDC) with ammonia. AkzoNobel operates two ethylene amine plants in Europe, each of which uses one of the processes. The routes can be summarized in Exhibit 1.

Tracing the steps back the overall feasibility would now depend upon the ethanol and ammonia production. The annual global production of ethanol according to the RFA Analysis of Public & Private Estimates was 24.57 billion gallons. Ammonia happens to be the second largest chemical (after sulfuric acid) produced in the world (more than 200 million tons per year).

Although ethanol production globally is not of primary concern, ammonia however needs a closer look. Ammonia production uses about 2% of the world’s fossil fuel energy and generates more than 420 million tons of CO2 per year. Approximately 80% of ammonia is utilized for fertilizers, with around 5% for explosives, and the balance for other chemical commodities. Ammonia’s performance as a fuel has never been a question (ammonia dual fuel with liquid oxygen powered the air-speed and altitude record-setting flights of NASA’s X-15 in the 1960s). Ammonia is produced by the highly energy and carbon-intensive Haber–Bosch process, which requires temperatures of 450–500°C and pressures of up to 200 bar. The feedstock for this process is hydrogen from natural gas (NG), coal or oil, and nitrogen produced from air by cryogenic route or pressure swing adsorption (PSA). The share of NG, coal, and fuel oil feedstock for the global production of ammonia is 72%, 22%, and 4%, respectively contributing to approximately 420 million tons of CO2 emissions per annum, representing more than 1% of global energy related emissions. The energy consumed for ammonia synthesis is mainly dependent on the region, plant size, and the source of hydrogen (feedstock). The best practice energy consumption values for NG, coal, and fuel oil are 7.8, 10.6, and 11.7 MWh per ton of ammonia, respectively, and the corresponding CO2 emissions are 1.6, 3.0, and 3.8 tons per ton of ammonia. The Institute for Industrial Productivity publishes the Industrial Efficiency Technology Database (IETD) which benchmarks CO2 emissions per ton ammonia for producers in every region, based on the local feedstock usage.

With today’s trend to improve sustainability, ammonia production can be achieved by replacing fossil fuels with renewable energy in the manufacturing process. This is not new. In the past, a number of hydropower plants synthesized ammonia using hydrogen produced from electrolysis as the feedstock. However, due to falling NG prices and increasing local electricity demand, many of these plants have been closed or converted into NG feedstock-based plants for ammonia synthesis. Some of the earliest ammonia plants used only hydroelectric power to produce ammonia from water and air. Several large-scale electrolytic hydrogen facilities have been built since 1928 when hydrogen was first produced via hydroelectric power in Norway. By the 1970s, plants in India, Egypt, Zimbabwe, Peru, Iceland, and Canada were also producing fertilizers from electrolytic hydrogen, the largest of these facilities being a 180-megawatt plant in Egypt. By 1998, only seven hydroelectric ammonia facilities were still active in the world, accounting for roughly 0.5% of total worldwide ammonia production.

Limited projects can be seen on wind-powered ammonia production in the last 50 years. Beginning in the early 1960s, wind-powered ammonia production was investigated by the United States Army through an initiative called the “Energy Depot Concept.” Later, in the 1970s, ammonia production using wind power in a stand-alone system was explored extensively by Lockheed California Company and the U.S. National Science Foundation. While both the U.S. Army and Lockheed/NSF found that wind power could be used to produce ammonia, neither constructed a wind–ammonia prototype plant nor discussed the economics of building a wind-powered ammonia plant in any significant depth.

In the renewable ammonia synthesis process, hydrogen is produced by electrolysis. The required electricity is generated from a renewable source such as solar photovoltaics (PV), wind generators, or tidal power. The hydrogen and nitrogen from an air separation unit (ASU) are compressed to the required synthesis pressure and fed to the Haber–Bosch synthesis reactor. The cost of the ammonia and the energy input for this route are mainly dependent on the electrolyzer capital costs and operating (electricity input) costs. The energy consumption by this route has been suggested to be in the range of 10–12 kWh per kg ammonia. Note that although the theoretical electric input required to produce hydrogen by the electrolysis of water is 7 KWh for each kg of ammonia produced (7 MWh ton–1), the actual electrical input will be higher due to electrolyzer stack component resistive, polarization, and system losses. Current generation electrolyzers operating at 65–70% net efficiency requires 48–55 kWh renewable energy input (LHV) to produce 1.0 kg of hydrogen, similar to the energy input when hydrogen is produced from natural gas (45–50 kWh kg–1 hydrogen).

Ethylene amines: An insightRecent industrial examples show the utility of such concepts, and are operating at full scale, with Casale, Haldor Topsoe, ThyssenKrupp, and KBR all developing designs for the integration of their ammonia synthesis technologies with renewable powered electrolyzers. Green ammonia is now clearly established as a commercial prospect. It would be naïve to ignore a possible future joint venture, flourishing between the ethylene amine producers and the four companies developing novel pathways for sustainable ammonia production.

The real question is: can ammonia and related chemicals be carbon-free? The ammonia molecule contains no carbon, and yet we make it from fossil fuels. If we can’t reduce ammonia’s carbon footprint, the potential for ammonia fuel to decarbonize global economies is minimal. However, if ammonia can be produced with low or no carbon emissions, it could become the carbon-free fuel and energy storage medium that allows deep decarbonization of global industry, transportation, and power sectors. It is in this context, that we should celebrate the fact that all four ammonia synthesis technology licensors are now engaged in green ammonia production.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 3 2019

Quarter Three 2019, Volume 25, Issue 3

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom