润滑脂产量下降掩盖了高科技、高利润产品的增长

Grease production decline masks growth in high technology, high margin products

Grease production decline masks growth in high technology, high margin products
2017年全球润滑脂市场量下降了0.4%,总产量仅超过25亿磅。作为美国润滑脂协会(NLGI)全球润滑脂生产调查(GPS)的一部分,每年对润滑脂的产量进行了核算。最近发布了2017年GPS调查结果。独立咨询公司CLGS Grease Technology Solutions总裁Chuck Coe于2018年6月在美国爱达荷州科达伦举行的美国润滑脂协会(NLGI)年度大会上介绍了这一发现。Coe说:尽管总体下降,全球润滑脂产量仍然相当稳定。不过他表示,这一统计数据在某种程度上掩盖了高科技、高利润产品的潜在增长。

GPS是世界上最全面的润滑脂调查,其调查基于自愿提交的生产统计数据。研究人员调查所有已知的和潜在的润滑脂制造商并要求其提交生产数据。数据按地理区域、增稠剂类型、年份以及最近的基础油类型进行分类。尽管参与率的波动会影响数据的准确性和相关性,但每年整理这些信息显然是很有帮助的。2017年NLGI报告中为226家公司和261家润滑脂厂的数据。相比之下,两年前调查评估了239家公司和277家润滑脂厂。

尽管2017年报告的润滑脂产量略有下降,在过去七年中,报告数据为复合年增长率(CAGR)0.32%。当研究人员对比2017年的参与者时,分析对象仅为过去四年一直报告的组织,逐年增长率为3.3%。

多年来的明显趋势是用高性能的复合锂基润滑脂逐渐替代低性能的简单锂基润滑脂。2017年的报告详述了这一趋势的延续。过去7年复合锂基润滑脂的复合年增长率为+2.3%,但简单锂基润滑脂(CAGR=-1.8%)和其他润滑脂的产量均相应降低。使用简单锂皂基稠化剂制造的润滑脂,总体比例已降至54%以下。

钙基润滑脂产量的趋势并不那么明显。与其他增稠剂相比,磺酸钙已显示出惊人的量增,复合年增长率CAGR达12%以上,但无水钙基润滑脂和有水钙基润滑脂的产量近期略呈下降,并且下降趋势还在继续,复合年增长率CAGR为-0.44%。

Chuck Coe


聚脲增稠剂最早于1954年推出,日本在20世纪70年代研发该产品处于领先地位。这些润滑脂通常具有高温性能、固有的抗氧化性能、强大的防水性和机械稳定性,并且可以表现出高剪切稳定性。近年来,聚脲润滑脂的制造通过使用市售的聚尿酸粉末得到了简化,由于受到消费者的欢迎,该产品的产量持续增长—现在占总产量的约6%。在过去的七年中,聚脲的复合年增长率CAGR 达到2.2%—欧洲的增长率则超过了10.1%,遥遥领先。在此期间,北美(2.5%)和日本(1.8%)也表现出持续增长。另一方面,中国观察到不稳定(可能无法解释)的产量,七年的CAGR为-1.6%。

不同地区的基础油用量差异很大。NLGI报告强调了过去七年所有非传统基础油的强劲增长,其中全合成油的CAGR为6.4%。但实际上,传统基础油仍然是该行业的“主打”基础油,全球生产的90%以上的润滑脂仍在使用传统基础油。

生物油的使用量仍然很低,目前占产量的比例徘徊在0.5%左右。Coe表示,随着我们在政府政策和监管的推动下前进,该比例会继续增长。他表示,当性能和价格开始反映矿物基润滑脂和润滑油时,我们将看到使用量激增。

中国的大部分调查数据都一次性来自中石化。虽然参与的中国公司情况略有变化,该数据在很大程度上是具有可比性的。尽管自2010年左右以来产量一直在下降,但中国的整体润滑脂产量基本维持不变。此前,中国的润滑脂产量已经超过欧洲和北美的产量总和,但现在略低于欧洲和北美的产量之和—略低于9亿磅。这一产量非常接近于欧洲(486,244,789磅)和北美(473,889,558磅)的总产量。

北美、欧洲、非洲和中东的产量增长均可观,其中北美和欧洲的产量与2016年相比分别增长了2.4%和8.3%。Coe将欧洲的大幅增长归因于欧洲经历多年的经济衰退后不断复苏。非洲和中东的数据在一定程度上受新参与者的影响而有偏差,但日本产量也稳定增长2.2%。

由于参与度下降和一家制造厂关闭等原因,中南美洲的产量在2017年降幅近5%。据报告称,印度是降幅最大(18%)的国家或地区。相对于产量减少,调查参与率显著降低是印度产量大幅下降的主要原因。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Grease production decline masks growth in high technology, high margin products

润滑脂产量下降掩盖了高科技、高利润产品的增长

Grease production decline masks growth in high technology, high margin products

The worldwide grease market declined 0.4% in 2017 with total production of just more than 2.5 billion pounds. Annual accounting of grease production occurs as part of NLGI’s global grease production survey (GPS). The 2017 GPS survey results have recently been released. Chuck Coe, president of CLGS Grease Technology Solutions, an independent consultancy, presented the findings at the NLGI Annual General Meeting in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, U.S.A., in June 2018. Despite the headline decline, global grease production remains ‘fairly stable,’ says Coe. However, this statistic somewhat masks the underlying growth in higher technology, higher margin products, he says.

The GPS is the world’s most comprehensive grease survey and is based on voluntary submission of production statistics. Researchers survey all known and potential grease manufacturers and request production data. Data is categorised by geographic region, thickener type, year, and more recently, base oil type. The benefit of collating this information on an annual basis is obvious, though fluctuations in participation rates can impact the accuracy and relevance of the data. The 2017 NLGI report includes data from 226 companies and 261 grease plants. By way of comparison, two years earlier the inquiry evaluated 239 companies and 277 plants.

Despite a slight dip in reported grease production in 2017, over the past seven years the compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of reported data is 0.32%. When researchers consider the 2017 participants on a comparative basis, analysing only organisations that have reported consistently for the past four years, a 3.3% increase is observed year on year.

A trend that has been evident for several years is the replacement of lower performing simple lithium greases by higher performing complex lithium greases. The 2017 report details a continuation of this trend, with a CAGR of +2.3% in lithium complex over the past seven years, at the expense of simple lithium production (CAGR = -1.8%) and other greases. The overall percentage of greases made with simple lithium soap thickeners has fallen below 54%.

The trend in calcium grease production is not quite as obvious. Calcium sulfonate has demonstrated a startling increase in volume compared to other thickeners, with a CAGR of more than 12%, however, calcium anhydrous plus hydrated production has dipped in recent times and remains in decline with a CAGR of -0.44%.

Chuck Coe

Polyurea thickeners were first introduced in 1954, with Japan leading development in the 1970s. These greases typically deliver high-temperature performance, inherent antioxidative properties, strong water resistance, mechanical stability and can exhibit high-shear stability. Polyurea grease manufacture has been simplified in recent times by the use of commercially available polyuria powders and continues to grow in popularity — now accounting for approximately 6% of total production. During the last seven years polyuria has witnessed a CAGR of 2.2% — Europe leading the charge with an impressive 10.1% growth. North America (2.5%) and Japan (1.8%) have also demonstrated sustained growth throughout this period. China, on the other hand, has observed erratic (and perhaps unexplained) production volumes with a seven-year CAGR of -1.6%.

Base oil use continues to vary considerably by region. The NLGI report highlights strong growth in all non-conventional base oils over the past seven years, led by fully synthetic oils with a robust CAGR of 6.4%. However, the reality is that conventional base oils remain the industry’s ‘go to’ base oils and are still used in more than 90% of grease produced globally.

Bio-based oil usage remains low, currently hovering around 0.5% of production. This will continue to grow as we move forward, says Coe, propelled by government policy and regulation. When performance and price begin to mirror mineral-based greases and oils, we will witness an upsurge in usage, he suggests.

Most of China’s survey data comes in one lump sum from Sinopec. While there has been a slight shift in Chinese companies participating, the data is largely comparative. Overall grease production in China is essentially unchanged year on year, although volumes have been declining since around 2010, Previously, China’s grease production had exceeded Europe and North America’s combined output but now sits slightly lower than Europe plus North America at just under 900 million pounds. The European (486,244,789 pounds) and North American (473,889,558 pounds) outputs are very similar.

North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East have all exhibited measurable production growth, with North America and Europe up 2.4% and 8.3% respectively on a comparative basis compared with 2016. Coe attributes the large jump in Europe to a continuing recovery from the economic downturn that has plagued the region for several years. While Africa and the Middle East’s figures are somewhat skewed by new participants, Japan has also delivered a steady production increase of 2.2%.

Central and South American production have decreased almost 5% in 2017 driven by lower participation and the closure of one manufacturing plant. India reported the largest decline of any country or region (18%) although this free fall is largely attributed to notable declines in survey participation as opposed to reduced output.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

Most Views

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2018 Quarter 4

Quarter Three 2018, Volume 24, Issue 4

Click to view