高品质和具备竞争力的价格:二者能兼得吗?

High quality and competitive price: Is it possible?

High quality and competitive price: Is it possible?
亚洲是燃料和润滑油添加剂增长最快的地区。全球玩家已自觉瞄准这个高增长市场、扩展业务。廉价的劳动力、充沛的原料和不断增长的客户需求,是该地区内吸引制造商的主要因素。需求和生产不断从北美、欧洲和日本转移到亚洲的新兴市场,以降低生产成本。

然而,尽管近年来取得了进步,亚洲仍被视为新兴市场,并且正在努力应对价格敏感的声誉。对于一些人来说,低价往往会与低质量联系在一起。

低成本制造在推动中国到2010年成为世界第二大经济体方面发挥了重要作用。然而,德勤咨询公司在2016年的全球制造业竞争力指数表明:中国正在从低成本制造转向中高科技制造业。这在一定程度上是劳动力成本大幅增加造成的。

中国的产业升级为其他新兴国家进入低成本制造敞开了大门。但是,随着监管成本的上升,对润滑油性能和发动机保护的关注渐增以及尽量降低运营成本的愿望加强,这就引出了一个问题:这个市场中最有效的成长战略是什么?是否有可能以具有竞争力的价格为亚洲提供优质产品?

总部位于韩国的制造商松原是燃料和润滑油抗氧化剂的全球供应商。尽管该公司在塑料材料抗氧化剂方面拥有50多年的经验,但松原进入这一特定细分市场的时间相对较晚,但成长得很快。松原现已成为亚洲最大的酚类和胺类抗氧化剂生产商,也是全球领先的生产商。

Olivier Keiser
Olivier Keiser


松原产业集团全球燃料和润滑油添加剂业务部门负责人Olivier Keizer说:“我们在汽车领域的高性能添加剂方面表现出色。这是我们迄今为止专注的地方,我们的产品系列也反映了这种定位”。在相对较短的时间内成功获得汽车抗氧化剂后,SONGWON决定将重点放在扩展到工业润滑油市场。因此,该公司正在推出SONGNOX®L570,以扩大其燃料和润滑剂抗氧化剂的范围,并通过增强其技术支持和实验室测试能力,“以满足特定细分市场中客户不断增长的需求”。

SONGNOX®L570是一种胺类抗氧化剂,可保护车辆和机械中的润滑剂免受降质。该公司声称:这种行业认可的产品具有卓越的物理和技术性能,非常适用于要求苛刻的汽车和工业配方,包括润滑脂。

虽然松原在为市场提供创新解决方案“受益于我们的大型抗氧化剂产品系列”方面保持着骄人记录,并坚持“一切都与化学有关”的口号。但Keiser说,“生产这一特定的产品系列的并非只有我们一家”。在紧俏的抗氧化剂市场,这家韩国公司提供的产品与德国竞争对手巴斯夫和朗盛相似。

Keiser说,独一无二的是松原提供的价值主张。“我们当然有自己的优势。”他所说的优势之一是指地理位置,因此通过缩短供应路线降低物流成本,并且由于世界规模的生产能力和向后整合而降低了成本竞争力。松原通过在亚洲生产并利用更多客户不断扩大的地区的材料供应来提供差异化点。他说:“如果您是亚洲的润滑油公司或亚洲的工业公司,我们的属地优势会自然呈现。”

虽然Keiser承认类似的技术产自美国和欧洲并且通常输往亚洲,但他质疑为什么不使用本地原材料在地区内按照中国、韩国或印度的要求生产。他说,这样会更容易,并且暗示更具成本效益。

对于最近在抗氧化剂市场上购买Chemtura业务的主要竞争对手巴斯夫和朗盛,松原是新入市者、需要与成熟玩家竞争。因此价格竞争力至关重要。Keiser说:“我们入市较晚—所以我们所接触的一切都需要具备成本效益、符合我们的高服务承诺、高产品质量标准以及符合高环境、健康和安全标准(EHS)目标。”

从历史上看,低成本往往会被认为是低品质。Keizer说,这种观点现在已不时兴。他补充说,松原通过规模经济实现了具有价格竞争力的产品。“通常情况下,我们把大规模生产定义为每种产品不低于10,000吨,我们将其运往亚洲或欧洲或美洲—无论客户要求何处。我们的物流能力很强,这根本不是问题。”

他补充说:“我们在韩国的世界级工厂使松原能经济高效地在全球范围内供应产品,以满足客户的需求,并且非常适合支持将融合活动扩展到亚洲的客户。”

SONGWON确实开发了必要的实物资产,拥有最先进的设施,包括世界上最大的酚类抗氧化剂工厂,助力其在亚洲取得成功。该公司继续投资新的生产能力以及研发能力,以满足新的行业要求。韩国梅岩的新技术创新中心于2017年3月23日开业,作为“进入具有高价值和尖端技术的新业务领域的关键一步”。该设施面积为3,120平方米,设计时已将未来扩建考虑在内。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Q1

Quarter One 2019, Volume 25, Issue 1

Click to view


ExxonMobil | FLM Medium Tile | 300×300

High quality and competitive price: Is it possible?

高品质和具备竞争力的价格:二者能兼得吗?

High quality and competitive price: Is it possible?

Asia is the fastest growing region for fuel and lubricant additives. Global players require little encouragement to expand their businesses to target this high growth market. Availability of cheap labour, accessibility of feedstocks and growing customer demand are major attractions for manufacturers in the region and demand and production is continually shifting from North America, Europe and Japan to emerging markets in Asia which can offer lower production costs.

However, despite advancements in recent times, Asia is still considered an emerging market and one that grapples with a price sensitive reputation. For some, lower pricing emanates a perception of lower quality.

Low-cost manufacturing played a significant role in propelling China to become the second largest economy in the world by 2010. However, the Deloitte 2016 Global Manufacturing Competitiveness Index suggested that China is transitioning from low-cost manufacturing to more medium and high-tech manufacturing — somewhat attributed to a significant increase in labour costs.

China’s evolution opens the door for other emerging nations to move into low-cost manufacturing. Though, with rising regulation costs, an increased focus on lubricant performance and engine protection, and the desire to minimize the cost of operation, it begs the question, what is the most effective growth strategy in this market? Is it possible to deliver a quality product for Asia at a competitive price?

South Korean-based manufacturer SONGWON is a global supplier of antioxidants for fuels and lubricants. Although the company has more than 50 years experience in antioxidants for plastic materials, SONGWON is a relatively newcomer to this specific market segment, but it has matured quickly to become the largest producer of phenolic and aminic antioxidants in Asia and a leading player on the global stage.

Olivier Keiser
Olivier Keiser

“We are strong on high performance additives in the automotive sector. That’s where we have been concentrating so far and our product range reflected this positioning,” says Olivier Keiser, head of SONGWON Industrial Group’s global Business Unit Fuels and Lubricant Additives. After the success in automotive antioxidants in a relatively short period, SONGWON has decided to place emphasis on expanding into the industrial lubricants market. Consequently the company is broadening their range of fuel and lubricant antioxidants by launching SONGNOX® L570 and by enhancing its technical support and laboratory testing capabilities “to meet the growing needs of customers in this specific market segment”.

SONGNOX® L570 is an aminic antioxidant that protects lubricants from degradation in vehicles and machinery. This industry approved product has outstanding physical and technical properties, which makes it highly suitable for use in demanding automotive and industrial formulations, including greases, the company claims.

While SONGWON maintains a proud record of bringing innovative solutions to market “benefitting from our large antioxidant product range” and upholds the tagline “It’s all about the chemistry,” Keiser says that with this particular product range, “we are not unique.” In a tight antioxidant market, the Korean company offers a similar product to its German competitors BASF and LANXESS.

What is unique, says Keiser, is the value proposition SONGWON can offer. “We certainly have an advantage.” His stated advantage is one of location, hence reduced logistics costs via short supply routes, and cost competitiveness due to world scale production capabilities and backwards integration. SONGWON provides a point of differentiation by producing in Asia and harnessing the availability of materials in the region where more customers are expanding. “If you are a lubricant company in Asia or an industrial company in Asia — we can give you the advantage of being local,” he says.

Although Keiser admits that similar technology has historically been produced in America and Europe and typically transported to Asia, he questions why you wouldn’t produce Chinese, Korean or Indian requirements within the region using regional raw materials. It’s easier, he says, and intimates it is more cost effective.

With key competitors BASF and LANXESS, who recently purchased the Chemtura business, in the antioxidant market, SONGWON is the newbie and needs to compete with well-established players hence price competitiveness is key. “We are coming late to market — so everything we touch needs to be cost-effective, aligned with our high service commitment, high product quality standards and compliant to high EHS (environmental, health and safety standards) targets,” says Keiser.

Historically, low cost may have been perceived as low quality. Not anymore, says Keiser. SONGWON achieves a price competitive product through economies of scale, he adds. “Typically, we build big scale, defined as minimum 10,000 tonnes per product, and we ship it to Asia or Europe or the Americas — wherever our customers request it. Thanks to our extensive logistics competencies, this is no problem.”

He adds, “Our world-scale plant in South Korea allows SONGWON to cost-effectively supply products globally to meet our customers’ requirements and is ideally situated to support customers who are extending their blending activities into Asia.”

SONGWON has certainly developed the necessary physical assets to achieve success in Asia, with state-of-the-art facilities that include the biggest single plant in the world for phenolic-antioxidants. The company continues to invest in new production capacity, as well as research and development, in anticipation of new industry requirements. A new Technology Innovation Center, in Maeam, South Korea, was opened on 23 March 2017, as a “key step forward in entering new business areas with high value and sophisticated technology.” The facility is 3,120 square metres and designed with future expansion in mind.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 3 2019

Quarter Three 2019, Volume 25, Issue 3

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom