June 05, 2020

F+L Webcast | Leaderboard | 600×75
article image
长久以来,电动化一直被鼓吹为交通行业的未来。尽管有诸多类似的鼓吹言论,电动汽车的全球市场表现却差强人意。即使在2018年电动汽车业绩表现良好的背景下,其预计市场份额贡献率也仅有3%。

Toyota Battery Electric Vehicle Battery Pack

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation



锂化合物通常是电动汽车发展的限速器,而且会引起电动汽车用电池价格的上涨。可充电锂离子电池在阳极端使用嵌入锂化合物。欧洲汽车制造商从世界各地的制造商处采购锂离子电池。未来十年内,预计将有数百万辆电动汽车行驶在欧洲的道路上,因此锂离子电池的需求量将达到数百万千瓦时,当前技术将催生下一代车辆的发展。

欧洲运输环境联合会(简称为“交通与环境机构”)在2019年7月发布的一份题为“欧洲电动汽车浪潮2019-2025”的报告分析了欧洲汽车和电池的生产趋势,并显示锂供应将不再是一个问题。从中期来看,欧洲的锂离子电池生产能力足够满足电动汽车预期发展趋势。

数据显示,2023年的电动汽车和混合动力汽车生产所需的锂离子电池容量将达到112 GWh,到2025年这一数值将达到176 GWh。根据批准的计划,2023年欧洲的电池产能预计为131 GWh,这一数值将在2028年增长到274 GWh。2023年之前,欧洲的电池将继续依赖亚洲等周边国家,之后欧洲有望实现自给自足。该报告指出欧洲至少有16座大型锂离子电池生产厂家正在运营或者即将投入运营。

Toyota Mirai

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation



随着欧洲锂供应开始逐渐满足市场需求,这一化合物不再是电动汽车发展的障碍。交通与环境机构认为欧洲目前即将进入电动汽车的过渡期,该报告的撰写者预计在未来几年,在汽车制造商扩大生产规模的同时,电动汽车的保有量也将出现激增。预计到2025年,欧洲的电动汽车数量将从今年的100万辆增加到400万辆,增加了四分之三。这正是欧洲甩掉治理交通碳减排不利恶名的好时机。

2018年,电动汽车在欧洲占有2.5%的市场份额,交通与环境机构的报告还暗示,电动汽车销售受到汽车制造商刻意打压以及车型有限等不利因素的影响,截止目前电动汽车生产缓慢仍是一种经过计算方法。该报告称,生产商认为电动汽车是“合规车辆”,并为了达到二氧化碳减排目标,制定了最低要求。同时,该报告还强调了电动汽车存在的几个问题,比如“等待时间非常长,启动延迟,某些地区和国家的经销商服务较差,或者没有经销商”。

但是,现在要动真格的了。报告编写者们指出汽车生产商终于准备好拥抱电动,并且正在抛弃之前采用的“技术中立”方法。欧洲汽车制造商做出的1450亿欧元(1583.1亿美元)的电动汽车投资宣言更加坚定了他们选择电动作为清洁技术的承诺。

欧洲将发布一批轻型车型。2018年底,市场有60种纯电动车、插电式混合动力汽车和燃料电池电动汽在售车型。预计到2020年,车型将增加到176种,2021年增加到214种,2025年增加到333种。交通与环境机构指出,在欧盟即将在2020-21年强制实施95g/km 的二氧化碳排放目标的大背景下,车型增多绝非偶然。

Toyota Mirai Power Pack

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation



预计到2025年,欧洲五分之一的车辆将为电动车。届时将有400万辆插电式混合动力汽车,其中纯电动汽车将占到60%,其余为插电式混合动力汽车。随着电池成本的降低,以及规范的日趋严格,纯电动车将在电动汽车市场中占据更大的份额,而混合动力汽车的份额将出现下降。

交通与环境机构说,尽管业内对上述新车型的出现时机仍有争议,电动汽车生产量将在2025超过达到2025排放标准所需的要求。似乎汽车制造商目前急切希望在这一不断增长的市场上分得一杯羹。预计数量是根据2019年早期发布的原始设备制造商报告作出的。

但是,上述新车不太可能出口,大部分将在当地销售。欧洲汽车生产商有望专门生产符合当地市场严格的二氧化碳排放要求的车辆。但是向缺乏充电基础设施的国家出口仍存在诸多困难。目前已经和中国公司成立了合资企业,规避向该地区销售的关税。

Toyota Mirai Assembly

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation



2019年6月份,丰田宣布了一项从混合动力车辆和燃料电池电动汽车转型的战略,这家日本汽车制造商对电动汽车的承诺有利于实施中国和欧洲地区的燃料消耗规范,同时也加剧了电池供应的担忧。目前,所有主要汽车生产商不约而同的做出了相同的技术选择—电动化。这一承诺的代价是燃料电池电动汽车和天然气(压缩天然气)等替代动力系统。交通与环境机构报告显示上述两项技术的计划生产量微乎其微。欧盟的整体生产数据显示,预计到2025年,将生产9,000辆燃料电池电动汽车,压缩天然气和液化天然气车辆还要低1%左右。该报告确认燃料电池电动汽车技术还不够成熟,要比纯电动车的技术落后十多年。

西欧将进行电动汽车的批量生产,预计到2025年,德国、法国、西班牙、意大利和英国将生产欧洲85%的电动汽车和三分之二的传统汽车。匈牙利、捷克共和国和斯洛伐克确定了宏伟的人均电动汽车生产值。到2025年,斯洛伐克有可能实现最高的人均电动汽车生产量。预计到2025年,大众、标致雪铁龙、雷诺日产和戴姆勒等知名汽车制造商的电动汽车产量将占到整个欧洲的三分之二。

欧洲的电动汽车生产与内燃机的减少量不成比例。葡萄牙、比利时、瑞典、斯洛文尼亚、奥地利、荷兰和芬兰等国将在汽车生产方面遭受净损失。
< Previous

Lack of infrastructure a fundamental issue in the growth of electric vehicles

Combustion vs electrification: Are super lean-burn engines the key to emissions reduction?

Croda Rewitec | FLM Vertical Rectangle | 390×540

April 03, 2020

F+L Week 2020 Sept. | Leaderboard | 600×75
Lithium supply to outstrip demand in Europe
article image

Electrification has long been touted as the future of transportation. Despite these prophecies, the global uptake of electric vehicles (EV) is not yet mind-blowing. Even accounting for robust growth in 2018, EVs are only expected to contribute 3% market share this year.

Toyota Battery Electric Vehicle Battery Pack

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation

Availability of the chemical compound lithium is regularly offered as a handbrake to the acceleration of growth and the cause of heightened EV battery pricing. Rechargeable lithium-ion batteries (LIB) use intercalated lithium compound at the positive electrode. European carmakers source LIB from a variety of manufacturers throughout the globe. With millions of EVs projected to hit European roads over the next decade, there is an accompanying need for millions of kWh’s of LIB, the current technology used to propel the next generation of vehicles.

A report, released by Transport & Environment (T&E), the European Federation for Transport and Environment, on July 2019, entitled ‘Electric Surge: Carmakers’ electric car plans across Europe 2019-2025” analyses automotive and battery production trends in Europe. The T&E report indicates lithium supply is no longer an issue. In the medium term, Europe has enough LIB production capacity to support anticipated EV growth.

The data identifies a total LIB demand from electric and hybrid vehicle production of 112 GWh in 2023 and 176 GWh in 2025. The corresponding European battery production capacity, based on confirmed plans, is 131 GWh in 2023 expanding to 274 GWh in 2028. While Europe will continue to rely on countries outside Europe, such as Asia, until 2023, beyond this date Europe is likely to be self-sufficient. The report indicates at least 16 large-scale LIB cell manufacturing facilities exist or are likely to come online across Europe.

Toyota Mirai

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation

With lithium supply beginning to outpace demand in Europe, the chemical compound is no longer a stumbling block to EV acceleration. T&E suggests Europe is now on the verge of a transformational shift to EVs. The authors of the report foresee a surge in EV volumes in the upcoming years as automakers scale up production. Europe will exceed four million EVs in 2025, up from three-quarters of a million this year. The time is right to shake off Europe’s historically poor performance on tackling transport carbon emissions.

In 2018, EVs accounted for 2.5% market share in Europe. The T&E report implies the slow production to date has been a calculated approach – with automakers deliberately suppressing EV sales and limiting model availability. Manufacturers have considered EVs as “compliance cars” and have produced the minimum requirement to achieve CO2 targets and no more, claims T&E. The report also highlights several EV-related issues including “very long waiting times, launch delays, dismissive dealerships or unavailability in some regions or countries.”

But now the gloves are off. The authors suggest auto manufacturers are finally ready to embrace electrification and are scrapping the preceding “technology-neutral” approach. Investment announcements of EUR145 billion (USD158.31 billion) in electric cars by European automakers reinforce their commitment to electrification as the clean technology of choice.

A wave of new light-duty models will be released across Europe. At the end of 2018, 60 battery electric vehicles (BEV), plug-in hybrid vehicles (PHEV) and fuel cell (FCEV) models were on the market. By 2020, this will rise to 176 models, 214 models in 2021, and 333 models by 2025. The ramp-up is no coincidence, according to T&E, with a mandatory European Union (EU) CO2 target of 95g/km becoming active in 2020-21.

Toyota Mirai Power Pack

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation

By 2025, over one-fifth of EU car production will be electric. Of the estimated four million plug-in cars, BEV will account for 60%, the remainder PHEVs. As battery costs decline, and regulations become increasingly stringent, BEVs will assume an even greater role in the EV market, with the role of hybrids declining.

Despite cynicism relating to the timing of these new models, EV production volumes in 2025 will exceed the requirement to achieve 2025 emissions standards, says T&E. It seems car manufacturers are now eager to seize a slice of this growing pie. Forecast volumes are based on OEM announcements until early 2019.

Exports of these new vehicles are unlikely, however, with most EVs produced in Europe likely to be sold there. EU carmakers are expected to dedicate production to the local market to comply with stringent CO2 standards. There is also inherent difficulty exporting to countries that lack necessary charging infrastructure, and joint ventures already exist with Chinese companies to enable selling without tariffs in the region.

Toyota Mirai Assembly

Photo courtesy of Toyota Motor Corporation

In June 2019, Toyota announced a strategic shift away from hybrids and FCEVs. The Japanese automaker’s commitment to electric vehicles has been attributed to toughening fuel consumption regulations in China and Europe and concerns around battery supply. All major automakers are now aligned on the technology of choice — electrification. This commitment comes at the expense of alternative powertrains such as FCEV and natural gas (CNG). The T&E report suggests production plans for these two technologies are negligible. 9,000 FCEVs will be produced by 2025, and 1% or less CNG and LPG vehicles, from the total EU production. The report acknowledges that FCEV technology is relatively immature, 10 years behind BEVs.

Western Europe will deliver the bulk of EV production throughout the region. Germany, France, Spain, Italy and the United Kingdom are projected to deliver 85% of Europe’s EV production in 2025, and two-thirds of conventional cars. Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia are also earmarked for significant EV production per capita. Slovakia is likely to have the highest per-capita EV production by 2025.  Leading auto manufacturers — the Volkswagen Group, PSA, Renault-Nissan and Daimler — will deliver two-thirds of EV production in Europe by 2025.

Production of EVs throughout Europe is not balanced with a reduction in internal combustion engine volumes. Several European countries will suffer net losses in vehicle production including Portugal, Belgium, Sweden, Slovenia, Austria, the Netherlands and Finland.

< Previous

Lack of infrastructure a fundamental issue in the growth of electric vehicles

Combustion vs electrification: Are super lean-burn engines the key to emissions reduction?

F+L Webcast | Vertical Rectangle | 390×540