混合动力汽车和电动汽车的润滑难题

Lubrication challenges of hybrid and electric vehicles

Lubrication challenges of hybrid and electric vehicles
很明显,替代性动力传动系统对与润滑剂产品具有深远影响。有人说交通向电动化发展的趋势正处在一个临界点,也有人说这一趋势发展缓慢——内燃机汽车未来几年仍将占据主导,人们对此尚未达成一致共识和预期。

金融数据与媒体私有公司彭博预计在2015年到2040年之间,全球轻型车的年销量将增加50%——从8000万辆增加到1.2亿辆。《彭博新能源财经》发布的《2017新能源汽车市场长期展望》针对电动汽车普及对机动车和能源市场的影响进行了年度分析,并强调2025年可能是电动汽车崛起的时间节点,电动车数量到2040将增至市场份额的一半。他们还称,与此同时,纯电动车将超过混合动力汽车。

摩擦学者和润滑工程师学会前主席Edward Becker博士于2018年6月9日到12日在爱达荷州科达伦举行的美国国家润滑脂协会第85届年会上发言时阐述了其对混合动力汽车和电动汽车的观点,尤其侧重于各动力传动系统的润滑问题。Becker提出许多现有燃油经济技术从“最初规模化应用”到饱和或达到峰值通常“大约需要15-20年的时间”。他说,如果电动汽车也遵循同样的轨迹,我们也将在未来15-20年继续推动其发展。

Becker博士曾为通用汽车公司效力30多年,主要在动力传动部门任职,他在演讲中概述了动力传动系统发展的三个具体阶段。过去五年主要侧重于缩小外部尺寸和涡轮增压、低速扭矩提升、增加传动齿轮,以及正在进行的降低摩擦。在这一阶段,混合动力汽车和插电式混合动力汽车被认为是小众化技术。Becker预计,到2025年,应更侧重于拥有先进燃烧技术同时配有涡轮增压/机械增压技术的高效内燃机,并采用低碳燃料——使燃油经济性提升约10%。插电式混合动力汽车将继续提升产品性能,在城市中提升电动汽车的普及程度。2025年之后,插电式混合动力汽车和混合动力汽车将占据主导地位,同时会建成许多方便实用的电动车充电设施。

此外,Becker说无人驾驶技术是必然的发展趋势。他宣称现代汽车已经逐步具备了独立刹车和转向技术等特点,尽管出现了一些备受关注的技术问题,但数据显示该技术的安全性能比普通驾驶员的安全性提升了近10倍。

动力传动系统的这些变化对轮滑剂有什么影响呢?毕业于密歇根大学的机械工程博士Becker认为混合动力汽车和电动汽车的润滑脂需求量“几乎会保持原样”。他说永久密封电机的轮子、盖子、门和窗户仍需要进行润滑,同时,动力方向盘和空调系统等配件的润滑市场仍会存在。但是,也会面临许多新的润滑油挑战。

内燃机和电动机混合运行本身就存在一些问题。当然,混合动力依然需要机油。发电启动一体式电动机的发动机只有在需要时才启动,因此平均运行温度较低。Becker透露,这就会造成燃料稀释问题,水会进入燃料。此外,发动机温度降低会影响抗磨剂和抗氧化剂的性能,这些添加剂的设计都是在温度超过(大约)250华氏度或者约125摄氏度时方可被激活发挥作用。

电动机通常采用常规传动液对发动机轴承进行润滑。Becker说,与内燃机发动机相比,电动汽车的关键优势是在启动时,能够在零转速条件下产生最大扭矩,而内燃机汽车则需要较高的转速方能产生足够的旋转力。

Ed Becker, Friction & Wear Solutions
Ed Becker


但是,Becker也提醒说电动汽车的高扭矩会引发磨损问题,因此可能需要对扭矩进行限制。特斯拉Model S将扭矩限制在低转速大扭矩。 尽管这家位于美国加利福尼亚州帕罗奥图市的公司声称这以做法是为了防止车轮脱离其单速变速箱,Becker认为这一说法纯属“胡说八道”。现代汽车配有电动牵引力控制,这一模块本身就可以限制车轮滑移。Friction & Wear Solutions有限公司的创始人分析了高扭矩产生磨损问题的理论,其引用的数据显示特斯拉最早期的动力传动系统约有三分之二需要在60,000英里里程范围内进行更换。

而在效率最大化方面,电动机必须朝着马达的最高速度性能运行。通用汽车公司的电动马达使用了永磁方法。为了在保证效率的同时避免限制高速度,通用汽车公司选择多档变速箱,使用常规传动液对液体循环经过的开式轴承进行润滑,而不是轴承润滑脂。

Becker强调了边界润滑剂和添加剂对保护高扭矩发动机或零速条件下实现最大扭矩发动机的重要性。

里程、成本和充电时间是电动汽车的几大缺点,即使是“高速”充电也只能在约20分钟的时间内完成80%的充电。Becker说使用电动汽车面临的一个更加复杂的问题是热生成。充电越快,产生的热量就越多,这是在较高速度时需面临的一个严重问题。

这些限制对润滑的意义非常明显——比如续驶里程和温度控制。但是,Becker作为燃料电池的倡导者也质疑蓄电池技术能否有效克服这些局限,成为市场认可的长期技术进行广泛推广。

展望未来,一个需考虑的重要问题是与新材料的匹配问题,尤其是铜和其他绕阻材料。保证“安装有上述组件的结构”仍保持较轻的重量是关键,因此Becker认为高端聚合物应用将会出现大幅增长。

绝大多数汽车的典型温度范围是-40°C ~ +40 °C,当然在某些特殊情况下,温度可能会超过上述温度范围。Becker说:“我们需要为极端温度做好准备”。永磁发动机有温度限制,超过设定温度会引起退磁。幸好,这些发动机的设计都在阀值范围内。增压发动机(比如特斯拉Model S采用的类型)可以容许短时超过温度限制的情况——因此,润滑剂必须也可以实现这一性能。

Becker说:“与采用永磁发动机的人同行,该发动机会产生温度问题,而你知道你却不会达到上述温度限制。”,这一言辞或许显示出了其对前公司的一点偏向。

电场和磁场与润滑系统的交互是另一个需要学习的新领域,他建议应给予密切关注。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Lubrication challenges of hybrid and electric vehicles

混合动力汽车和电动汽车的润滑难题

Lubrication challenges of hybrid and electric vehicles

Clearly, the arrival of alternative powertrains has far-reaching implications for lubricant products. Depending on who you talk to, the trend towards electrification is either at a tipping point, or slow and sluggish — leaving the internal combustion engine (ICE) to dominate for years to come. There is no clear consensus and a raft of projections.

Bloomberg, a privately held financial, data and media company, forecasts a 50% increase in annual global light duty vehicle sales between 2015 and 2040 — rising from 80 million to 120 million. The Bloomberg New Energy Finance’s 2017 Long-Term Electric Vehicle Outlook, an annual analysis of how electric vehicle (EV) adoption will impact automotive and energy markets, highlights 2025 as the likely timeframe in which we will witness a notable rise in EVs, growing to half of the market by 2040. Battery electric vehicles will start to leave plug-in hybrids behind about the same time, they claim.

Dr. Edward Becker, past president of the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE), speaking at NLGI’s 85th Annual Meeting from June 9-12, 2018 in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, provided his perspective on the status of hybrids and electric vehicles with a specific focus on lubrication challenges of each powertrain. Becker submits the timeframe from “first significant use” of many existing fuel economy technologies to reach saturation or plateau is typically “somewhere around 15-20 years.” If electric vehicles follow the same trajectory we will all be driving them in the next 15-20 years, he suggests.

Boasting three decades of experience at General Motors (GM), primarily in the powertrain division, the former GM employee outlined three specific phases of powertrain evolution during his presentation. A significant focus over the past five years (2012-2017) has been on downsizing and turbocharging, low-speed torque enhancements, increased transmission gears, and ongoing friction reduction. During this period, hybrid electric vehicles (HEV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEV) have generally been viewed as a niche technology. To 2025, Becker signposted an ongoing focus on high efficiency advanced combustion ICEs with combined turbo/supercharging capability, alongside low carbon fuels — delivering fuel economy enhancements in the region of 10%. PHEVs will continue to advance in premium and performance products, with increasing adoption of EVs in urban environments. Beyond 2025, PHEVs and HEVs will dominate, alongside the emergence of practical EV charging infrastructure.

Moreover, the eventuation of self-driving technology is inevitable, says Becker. Modern cars are already taking control with features such as independent braking and steering and — despite a few high-profile setbacks — the data suggests the technology is up to 10 times safer than you or I can be, pronounces Becker.

What do these changes in powertrains mean for lubrication? Becker, a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan, suggests grease requirements will remain “pretty much the same” for hybrids and EVs. Wheels, closures, doors and windows will all continue to be greased in sealed-for-life electric motors, he says, and the grease market for accessories such as power steering and air conditioning will sustain, claims Becker. However, there are a variety of new lubricant challenges.

Operating both an ICE and electric motor comes with certain challenges. Obviously, hybrids still require engine oil. Though, the stop-start hybrid experience means the engine only starts when required — resulting in lower average operating temperatures. This can create issues with fuel dilution, and water getting into the fuel, discloses Becker. Further, a reduced engine temperature can impair the performance of anti-wear and antioxidant additives — designed to activate when oil temperatures exceed (approximately) 250 degrees Fahrenheit, or around 125 degrees Celsius.

Electric motors usually employ conventional transmission fluid to lubricate motor bearings. A key advantage of EVs over ICEs is at launch, says Becker, with the ability to generate maximum torque at zero RPM. Conversely, an ICE requires higher revolutions to deliver sufficient rotational force.

Ed Becker, Friction & Wear Solutions
Ed Becker

However, Becker warns that the torque capability of EVs can cause wear issues and may necessitate torque-limitations. The Tesla Model S limits torque at low RPMs. While the Palo Alto, Calif., U.S.A.-based company claims this is deliberately employed to limit wheel spin off their single-speed gearbox, Becker believes this admission is “nonsense.” Modern vehicles have electronic traction control, which already limits wheel slip. The founder of Friction & Wear Solutions, LLC, theorises a wear problem resulting from high torque, citing owner data that indicates two-thirds of the earliest Tesla drivetrains required replacement within 60,000 miles.

For maximum efficiency, an electric engine must operate towards the top end of the speed capability of the motor. GM electric motors are created using a permanent magnet approach. To avoid limiting high-end speed while maintaining efficiency, GM opts for a multi-speed gearbox with conventional transmission fluid lubricating an open bearing where the fluid circulates, not a grease bearing.

Becker notes the importance of boundary lubricants and additives to protect engines under high torque or with maximum torque at zero speed.

Range, cost and charging time are further drawbacks of electric vehicles. Even ‘high speed’ charging only provides an 80% charge in around 20 minutes. A further complication of electricity, says Becker, is heat generation. The faster you charge the more heat you produce, a serious problem at higher speeds.

These limitations have clear implications for lubrication — such as range extension and temperature control. However, Becker, a fuel cell advocate, also questions whether battery technology will overcome these constraints sufficiently to become the accepted long-term technology for propulsion.

Looking to the future, an important consideration is compatibility with new materials, particularly copper and other winding materials. Ensuring the “structures that hold these things in place” remain lightweight is vital, thus Becker advises we will witness a rise in the usage of advanced polymers.

Typical temperature ranges specified by most vehicles are -40°C to +40 °C, though in certain situations temperatures can exceed these values. “We need to be prepared for extreme temperatures,” says Becker. Permanent magnet motors are temperature limited and exceeding a pre-defined temperature will cause demagnetization. Thankfully, these engines are designed to remain within a threshold. Induction engines, as in the case of a Tesla Model S, can tolerate excursions beyond temperature limits for a short period — therefore the lubricant must also.

“Go with someone using a permanent, magnetic motor as they’re going to have temperatures you know you will never get above,” offers Becker, perhaps showing a slight bias towards his former company.

The interaction of electric and magnetic fields with lubrication is another new area of study, one which he suggests we need to keep a close eye on.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

Most Views

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2018 Q3 Cover

Quarter Three 2018, Volume 24, Issue 3

Click to view