汽车电动化对润滑脂行业的最低影响

Minimal impact of vehicle electrification seen on lubricating greases

Minimal impact of vehicle electrification seen on lubricating greases
1884年,电气工程师、发明家Thomas Parker开始在英国伦敦进行电动汽车和电动客车的生产。到1900年,30%的汽车为电动车,但在短短20年间内,电动汽车几近消失。Henry Ford定价合理的内燃机、汽油的普及以及电启动马达的专利保护等因素共同导致了电车的覆灭。

目前,电动汽车呈现出卷土重来之势。根据《麦格理研究》披露的数据,电动汽车的全球销量在2017年增至了110万辆,而讽刺的是,许多评论员目前也认为内燃机即将行将就木。针对空气质量提升和立法收紧等活动不断增加,迫使原始设备生产商提高经济性要求,降低排放,多国政府已宣布禁止销售新生产内燃机车辆的禁令——挪威规定从2025年起便开始实施这一禁令。其他领先国家,诸如德国、荷兰和爱尔兰将在五年后跟进实施这一政策。

Gareth Fish
Gareth Fish


这一变化的规模和速度以及其对润滑油行业的影响仍存在不确定性。路博润集团的技术专家Gareth Fish 博士在6月份于爱达荷州科达伦举行的美国国家润滑脂协会第85届年会上发言时说,尽管电动汽车发展的力度不断增强,“未来20多年的实际情况似乎与标题所示的情形大相径庭。”他说某些预测显示,2040年前,电动汽车的年度销量不会超过总销量的30%。

在其发表题为“汽车电动化对未来润滑脂行业的影响”时,Fish强调了目前为提升发动机和动力传动系统所做的努力。目前正针对典型汽车的所有移动元件的摩擦和能量损失进行筛查。客车和轻型车是润滑脂的主要用户,一辆典型的轻型车辆大概需使用50类不同的润滑脂对车辆元件进行润滑,但是仅有少数润滑剂会对能量效率产生影响——比如传动节和轴承、前端附件驱动轴承、轮轴轴承和转向机构。

根据美国国家润滑脂协会年会的润滑脂生产调查结果,2016年汽车润滑脂产量为470,000公吨,其中45%用于卡车和客车,34%用于汽车和SUV汽车,其他部分用于农机或非公路用车。润滑脂主要用于防腐、润滑、防水或消声等功能。

电动化的进程无疑将改变对润滑技术的要求,满足新型传动和动力传动系统组件的要求。这对润滑脂究竟意味着什么呢?随着电动革命的声势日益加强,我们是否可以期待润滑脂生产将出现彻底的变革?

这位路博润的代表认为“实现政府法定燃料能耗目标的唯一方法是混合动力”,并将混合动力汽车和内燃机驱动汽车进行了对比,他说润滑脂的要求比较类似,并且他说:“我不认为会对汽车润滑脂产生重大影响——尤其是在短期内”。

但是,Fish强调了混合动力汽车的两个显著变化——分别是发动装置和驱动电动机的轴承。发动装置不再需要极限压力或抗震动载荷润滑脂,自动启停式车辆的发动装置可永久使用,并可在未启动发动机时作为发电机。Fish说安装在变速箱或差动器的传动电机轴承可使用润滑脂或润滑油进行润滑。他声称,展望未来,大多数内燃机和混合动力汽车所用润滑脂发展的主要动力是持久性和能效。

当然,电动汽车还有许多“未知因素”。 Fish说,明确的是要求对汽车里程具有积极影响的更高性能的润滑脂。“里程焦虑”是担心车辆的里程无法到达目的地,并会影响车辆的普及。未来电动汽车润滑脂的应用也需要能源高效,拥有卓越的耐久性和较长的寿命,同时必须避免可导致电力诱发轴承损坏的杂散电流。传导性,即某种材料导电的水平,便是一个已知的事宜。

Fish说,因为几乎所有润滑脂润滑的关键原件在中期内需要可延长寿命、降低噪音的润滑脂,主要驱动电动机的轴承润滑脂需要降低噪音,并应防止轴承面的电弧腐蚀。

所有现代汽车使用的电动机不断增加将影响润滑脂的用量。基本款车型大概配有16台电动机,为各种功能提供电力支持。比如奥迪A6等现代高端汽车甚至会配有40多个电动机。Fish称据说电动汽车拥有80个电动机驱动的部件——所有这些部件都需要润滑脂润滑。综合润滑脂用量大概是每辆车2公斤,路博润预计新型车辆的电动机润滑每年大概需要5,000吨润滑脂。

电动汽车也将会终结某些应用。中心轴承、高速万向节、Hooke万向节、滑动花键等传动轴不再需要润滑。没有发动机,也就不要求辅助传动轴承——水泵、发动机冷却扇轴承、交流发电机或皮带张紧器滑轮轴承。此外,Fish建议如果万向轴侧轴安装的角度较低,“将不再需要低摩擦润滑脂,万向节的壁可能会更小、更薄。”

冷却油泵和电动机轴承的润滑脂可能会发生重大变化。Fish还指出驱动电动机和电池的温控电路需要传热流体,而不是防冻、冷却回路。

Michael Gahagan
Michael Gahagan


路博润的Michael Gahagan在2018年UNITI矿物油技术会议之混合动力汽车和电动汽车润滑剂技术分析上发言时说:“新型流体将更好的提升和保护电动动力传动系统的硬件”,并且他预测混合动力汽车和电动汽车将在综合现有各种动力传动系统流体的基础上继续发展。Gahagan指出新型液体需考虑下列几点要求,包括系统电压升高、铜和电力电子增大、温度升高、新型聚合物材料、高速率、可能出现的摩擦等,以及低密度的发展趋势。

Gahagan强调了需要关注电导率和安全性,以及某些原始设备制造商和各级供应商目前的重点。如果电导率过高,会引起电流泄露和短路,而如果电导率过低,就可能导致静电荷和电弧放电累计引起的损害。电导率是润滑脂的一个属性——路博润的测试显示易氧化油品容易发生问题,Gahagan还建议新方法需保护电线、传感器和电路免受腐蚀影响。他说热转移和材料兼容性也是流体的关键性能。

专用润滑剂的新特点包括适当的电性能、良好的防腐性、足够的热传导性、与聚合物材料的兼容性、氧化和污泥控制,以及高速轴承保护。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Minimal impact of vehicle electrification seen on lubricating greases

汽车电动化对润滑脂行业的最低影响

Minimal impact of vehicle electrification seen on lubricating greases

In 1884, electrical engineer and inventor Thomas Parker began producing electric cars and trams in London, England. By 1900, 30% of cars were electric. Fast forward 20 years and electric vehicles (EV) had all but died out; Henry Ford’s reasonably priced internal combustion engine (ICE), widely available gasoline, and the patent of an electric starter motor, all contributing to their demise.

Now, electric vehicles are making a comeback. In 2017, global sales of EVs rose to 1.1 million vehicles, according to Macquarie Research, and, somewhat ironically, many commentators are now predicting the imminent death of the ICE. Increasing activity aimed at improving air quality, and tightening legislation, are compelling OEMs to achieve higher requirements for economy and reduced emissions. Several governments have announced bans on the sale of new ICE vehicles — Norway commencing as early as 2025. Other leading nations including Germany, the Netherlands, and Ireland will follow suit five years later.

Gareth Fish
Gareth Fish

There continues to be uncertainty around the scale and speed of this change and the impact it may have on the lubricant industry. Speaking at NLGI’s 85th Annual Meeting in June in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, Dr. Gareth Fish, a technical fellow from the Lubrizol Corporation, says despite intensified efforts into the development of EVs “the reality for the next 20 plus years appears to be different from the headlines.” Some estimates suggest EVs will account for less than 30% of all vehicles sold per annum before the 2040 deadline, he says.

Presenting “The Influence of Vehicle Electrification on Future Lubricating Greases,” Fish highlighted ongoing efforts to improve the efficiency of engines and drivetrains. All moving componentry on a typical automobile is now being scrutinized for friction and energy losses. Passenger cars and light trucks are major grease users, and a typical light vehicle may use up to 50 different greases to lubricate components. However, only a handful of these impact energy efficiency — such as drivetrain joints and bearings, front end accessory drive bearings, wheel bearings and steering mechanisms.

The annual NLGI Grease Production Survey reported automotive grease production in 2016 at 470,000 metric tonnes, 45% was attributed to trucks and buses, 34% from cars and SUVs, with the remainder from agriculture or off-highway vehicles. Grease usage typically involves a combination of corrosive protection, lubrication, water resistance or anti-squeak properties.

Advancements in electrification will, no doubt, alter demand for lubricating technology to address requirements of new transmissions and driveline components. But what does this really mean for greases? Should we expect wholesale changes to grease production once the electric revolution gathers momentum?

The Lubrizol representative believes “the only way to achieve legislated future governmental fuel consumption targets is by hybridization” and when comparing hybrid electric vehicles (HEV) to ICE only vehicles, lubricating grease requirements are relatively similar, he says. “I don’t see that having any significant effect on automotive greases — particularly in the short term.”

However, Fish highlights two notable variances with HEVs — the starter motor and bearings on the electric drive motor. Starter motors will no longer necessitate extreme pressure or shock load resistance greases. In stopstart vehicles, the starter motor can be permanently engaged and act as a generator when not re-starting the engine. Transmission electric motor bearings may be grease lubricated or oil lubricated when incorporated in the gearbox or differential, says Fish. Looking further ahead, the primary drivers in grease development for most ICE and HEV applications will be durability and energy efficiency, he confirms.

Not surprisingly, there are many “unknowns” regarding electric vehicles. What is clear, says Fish, is a likely requirement for higher performance greases that positively influence vehicle range. “Range anxiety” is the fear a vehicle has insufficient range to reach its destination, potentially stranding the occupants of the vehicle. Future EV grease applications will also need to be energy efficient, possess outstanding durability and long life, and must avoid stray currents that could cause electrically induced bearing damage. Conductivity, the degree to which a specified material conducts electricity, is a known issue.

Bearing greases for the main electric drive motors will need to be low noise and prevent arc erosion of the bearing surfaces, says Fish, with all critical grease lubricated components likely requiring longer life, lower noise greases in the medium term.

An upsurge in electric motors in all modern vehicles will impact grease volumes. A basic model vehicle may possess approximately 16 electric motors powering various functions. A modern, high-end vehicle, such as an Audi A6, could employ upwards of 40. Fish cites rumours of EVs with 80 electric motor-powered components — all requiring grease lubrication. Combined grease volumes could equate to approximately two kilograms per vehicle, and Lubrizol estimates 5,000 tonnes of grease could be required simply to lubricate electric motors in new vehicles each year.

EVs will also signal the end of some applications. Greasing will no longer be required in driveshafts — including center bearings, high-speed CV joints, Hooke’s joints, or sliding splines. With no engine, there is also no requirement for accessory drive bearings — water pumps, engine cooling fan bearings, alternators or belt tensioner pulley bearings. Further, Fish suggests, if CV jointed side shafts are installed at low angles “low friction greases are no longer needed, and CV joints could potentially be smaller or thinner walled.”

Greases for coolant pumps and motor bearings could also experience noteworthy change. Fish outlined a need for thermal fluid rather than anti-freeze, cooling circuits for the electric drive motors and temperature control circuits for the battery.

Michael Gahagan
Michael Gahagan

Lubrizol’s Michael Gahagan, speaking at UNITI Mineral Oil Technology Congress 2018 on Lubricant Technology for Hybrid & Electric Vehicles says, “new fluids will better enable and protect future hardware in electrified drivelines,” and he concludes HEVs and EVs will evolve from leveraging existing driveline fluids. Gahagan cited multiple new fluid considerations including higher system voltages, the presence of more copper and power electronics, higher temperatures, new polymer materials, high speeds, alternative friction requirements, and a trend toward very low viscosity.

Gahagan emphasized electrical conductivity and safety as a concern, and the current focus of some OEMs and tier suppliers. If conductivity is too high it can cause the leakage of current and short-circuits. Too low, can result in damage due to the build-up of static charge and arcing. Conductivity is a grease property — with Lubrizol’s testing suggesting oils susceptible to oxidation are potentially problematic. Gahagan also suggests new methods are required to protect wires, sensors, and circuits from corrosion. Thermal transfer and material compatibility are also key fluid aspects, he says.

New characteristics of a dedicated lubricant would include appropriate electrical properties, assured corrosion protection, sufficient thermal transfer characteristics, compatibility with polymeric materials, oxidation and sludge control, and high-speed bearing protection.

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

Most Views

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2018 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2018, Volume 24, Issue 4

Click to view