动力燃料:全球能源拼图之缺失?

Powerfuels: Missing piece in the global energy jigsaw puzzle?

Powerfuels: Missing piece in the global energy jigsaw puzzle?
《世界能源展望2018》是国际能源署(IEA)发布的最新全球能源预测。该展望提出了中期预测,即从2017年到2040年,全球能源需求将增长37.43亿吨石油当量(Mtoe),或

27%。而这一“新预测方案”是由发展中国家的增长推动,到2040年,发展中国家在全球能源需求中的份额将达到70%。

虽然能源供应的可用性、可购性和安全性是当前能源需求的关键考虑因素;也许最重要的挑战是将日益增加的能源消耗与化石燃料及其持续的温室气体排放脱钩。2019年4月全球动力燃料联盟(GAP)发布的报告指出,替代(可再生)能源将占能源需求增长的40%以上,由中国和印度主导。到2040年,“生态能源”将提供全球14%的能源供应。

向电气化转变将在能源转型中发挥主导作用,电动汽车和热泵两个领域可能刺激持续的电力需求。GAP题为“动力燃料: 成功实现能源转型过程中的缺失环节”的报告指出,根据各种不同的情况,预计到2050年,在美国,电力对能源的贡献的比例将达到32%至47%。

然而,尽管电气化对可再生能源的选择贡献很大;但是最终的解决方案可能包括许多技术。有一点可以肯定的是,在可预见的未来,可再生能源电力的直接利用将无法100%满足能源的需求。

全球动力燃料联盟(GAP)是来自能源、汽车、航空、化工、石油和工程等行业的跨国公司和协会的跨行业联盟。该组织认为,动力燃料是这一能源转型中的“缺失环节”。GAP由德国能源署(dena)和16位知名创始成员于2018年底成立,其中包括: 壳牌、博世、奥迪、戴姆勒和三菱公司。该组织的目标是提高对动力燃料的认识,并鼓励发展促进这些燃料的管理框架。

动力燃料被定义为“通过电力-X工艺,利用可再生电力生产合成气体和液体燃料”。动力燃料有时被称为e-fuels;但是,因为仅限于移动出行领域,所以这种命名约定可能会曲解其应用。

作为气候友好型化石燃料替代品,动力燃料有可能加速许多行业的去石化。与化石燃料一样,动力燃料也是能源密集型能源,与电力相比具有明显的优势,非常适合需要大量能源的情况。而其与化石燃料竞品的分子等效性允许利用现有的基础设施对其进行运输、分销和储存,例如通过石油和天然气管道、储存设施和炼油设备。

Various possible powerfuels processes但是,GAP表示,正是这些气态和液态能源的可交易性和可运输性使得动力燃料成为“能量转换所不可缺少要素”,这不仅使新的中性碳有出口机会,还可以使能源进口商的供应多样化。

在许多领域,直接电气化是不切实际的,替代化石燃料的可行方案刚刚起步,如航空、海运、非电气化铁路运输、重型长途公路运输或者采矿和建筑等领域使用的重型机械。

即使在可再生能源发电量即将增加的情况下,动力燃料的可用性也为供应安全提供了保障。风、太阳等自然元素的不可预测性以及一些市场对电网稳定性的担忧,已被认为是可再生电力增长的陷阱。

GAP最初的游说工作将集中在欧洲这个能源需求地区。然而,动力燃料为“拥有可再生能源的丰富空间及良好条件的国家”提供了可行的解决方案。世界能源理事会估计——德国建议到2050年,动力燃料可以达到目前化石燃料需求的20%,即20000太瓦时(TWh),其中大部分可能发生在无法直接使用可再生电力的行业。

GAP表示,动力燃料生产技术已经进入市场。不管最终产品是什么,电解是第一步-利用电能把水分解成氢和氧。随后的工艺流程包括甲烷化、费托合成、甲醇合成或氨合成,制氢、合成气(例如甲烷、丙烷)以及合成液体燃料和化学品(例如甲醇、柴油、汽油、煤油、氨、费托合成产品)。

尽管如此,动力燃料的出现还未开始。尽管绿色燃料“替代”化石燃料明显受益,可以利用现有的基础设施,动力燃料生产厂资金密集,固定成本高,边际成本低。不过,GAP报告显示,“未来通过规模经济降低成本的空间相当大。”电力成本在动力燃料成本中所占比例最大,其次是碳捕获。根据生产的燃料种类,成本差别很大。

水电解投资是关键考虑因素。根据历史的趋势,GAP预计电解槽的成本在未来几十年内将会下降。2018年至2020年期间,对此领域的投资额可能会达到每年4,000万美元。工厂规模的大幅增加对于降低投资成本以及利用规模经济至关重要。从2010到2017年间,全球电解槽年产能都低于20MW/年。

GAP表示,在评估动力燃料生产的可行性时,必须使用“从摇篮到坟墓的成本核算方法”来计算成本。当考虑到系统级成本时,燃料提供了“较低的总成本途径,在本质上是对其他能源转换途径的补充”。当以“油箱-到-车轮”为基础进行评估时,忽略了关键成本构成部分,而未捕获真正的能源系统成本。

尽管拥有必要的可再生能源的国家在动力燃料领域具有重大的本地市场和出口市场机会, GAP报告呼吁承认动力燃料的中性碳性质的政策,并将刺激对其化石燃料当量的需求。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2020 Early Bird | Medium Tile | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2019, Volume 25, Issue 4

Click to view

Powerfuels: Missing piece in the global energy jigsaw puzzle?

动力燃料:全球能源拼图之缺失?

Powerfuels: Missing piece in the global energy jigsaw puzzle?

The 2018 World Energy Outlook is the most recent global energy forecast released by the International Energy Agency (IEA). The Outlook provides a mid-range prediction that global energy demand will grow by 3,743 million tons of oil equivalent (Mtoe), or 27%, from 2017 to 2040. This “New Policies Scenario” is propelled by growth in the world’s developing countries whose share of global demand will reach 70% by 2040.

While availability, affordability and security of energy supply are key considerations in ongoing energy requirements; perhaps the most significant challenge is decoupling ever-increasing energy consumption from fossil fuels and their lingering greenhouse gas emissions. An April 2019 report, published by Global Alliance Powerfuels (GAP), suggests alternative (renewable) energies will account for more than 40% of growth in energy demand, with China and India leading the charge. “Eco-energy” will deliver 14% of global energy supply by 2040.

A shift to electrification will play a dominant role in this energy transition with electric vehicles and heat pumps two areas likely to stimulate sustained electricity demand. The GAP report, entitled Powerfuels: A missing link to a successful energy transition, estimates electricity’s contribution of final energy will sit between 32% and 47% in the United States by 2050, based on a variety of differing scenarios.

However, despite electrification contributing to the lion’s share when it comes to renewable energy options; the final solution is likely to include a myriad of technologies. One thing is for sure, direct use of electricity from renewable sources will be unable to satisfy 100% of energy requirements in the foreseeable future.

The Global Alliance Powerfuels is a cross-industry coalition of international companies and associations from the energy, automotive, aviation, chemical, petroleum and engineering sectors. The group believes powerfuels are the “missing link” in this energy transition. GAP was formed at the end of 2018 by the German Energy Agency (dena) and 16 high-profile founding members that include: Shell, Bosch, Audi, Daimler and the Mitsubishi Corporation. The organisation’s goals are to raise awareness of powerfuels and to encourage the development of regulatory frameworks that foster the advancement of these fuels.

Powerfuels are defined as “synthetic gases and liquid fuels produced from Power-to-X processes by utilising renewable electricity.” The electricity-based fuels are sometimes referred to as e-fuels; though, this naming convention can distort their application as solely bound for the mobility sector.

A climate-friendly alternative to fossil fuels, powerfuels have the potential to accelerate the de-fossilization of many industries. Like fossil fuels, powerfuels are energy dense, a distinct advantage over electricity, and ideal for instances where high amounts of energy are required. Molecular equivalence to their fossil fuel rivals allows the utilisation of existing infrastructure for transportation, distribution and storage, such as via oil and gas pipelines, storage facilities, and refinery equipment.

However, it is the tradeable and transportable nature of these gaseous and liquid energy sources that makes powerfuels the “necessary missing building block for the energy transition,” says GAP. Not only does this allow new carbon-neutral export opportunities, it can diversify supply for energy importers.

In many sectors direct electrification is impractical and viable alternatives to fossil fuels are fledgling, such as aviation, maritime shipping, non-electrical rail transport, heavy-duty long-distance road transport or the use of heavy machinery in sectors such as mining and construction.

Even with an imminent increase in electricity generation from renewable sources, availability of powerfuels provides security of supply. Unpredictability of natural elements such as wind and sun, and concerns around the stability of electricity grids in some markets, have been recognized as trepidations for the growth of renewable electricity.

GAP’s initial lobbying efforts will focus on Europe as a region of demand for powerfuels. However, the fuels provide a viable solution for any country “which possess abundant space and good conditions for renewable power.” Estimates from the World Energy Council – Germany suggest powerfuels could reach 20% of current fossil fuel demand by 2050, or 20,000 TWh, the majority of which will likely occur in sectors unable to employ direct usage of renewable electricity.

Various possible powerfuels processesTechnologies for powerfuel production are market-ready, says GAP. Irrespective of the end product, electrolysis is the preliminary step — using electrical energy to split water into hydrogen and oxygen. Succeeding processes include methanisation, Fischer-Tropsch-Process, Methanol Synthesis or Ammonia Synthesis and produce hydrogen, synthetic gas (e.g. methane, propane), and synthetic liquid fuels and chemicals (e.g. methanol, diesel fuel, gasoline, kerosene, ammonia, Fischer-Tropsch products).

Nonetheless, the emergence of powerfuels is not a done deal yet. Despite the obvious benefit of a green “drop-in” alternative to fossil fuels that can utilise existing infrastructure, powerfuel production plants are capital intensive, with high fixed and low marginal costs. Though, the GAP report suggests there is “considerable scope for future cost reductions through economies of scale.” Electricity costs generate the largest portion of powerfuel costs, followed by carbon capture. Costs vary widely based on the type of fuel produced.

Investment in water electrolysis is a key consideration. Based on historical trends, GAP projects the cost of electrolysers will fall over the coming decades. Investments are likely to reach USD40 million per year between 2018 and 2020. A significant scale-up of plant size is paramount to decrease in investment costs and avail of economies of scale. Annual worldwide electrolyser capacity has been below 20MW per year from 2010 to 2017.

When assessing the viability of powerfuel production, costs must be calculated using “cradle to grave costing,” says GAP. When system-level costs are considered, the fuels offer a “lower total cost pathway that is complementary in nature to the other energy transition approaches.” When evaluating based on a tank-to-wheel basis, critical cost components are ignored, and true energy system costs are not captured.

Despite significant local and export opportunities for powerfuels from countries that possess the necessary renewable energy sources, the GAP report calls for policies that recognise the carbon-neutral nature of powerfuels and will stimulate demand over their fossil fuel equivalents.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2020 Early Bird | Medium Tile | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 3 2019

Quarter Three 2019, Volume 25, Issue 3

Click to view


300x600wechat