可持续发展是行业的创新驱动力

Sustainability is the industry’s innovation driver

Sustainability is the industry’s innovation driver
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.
如果我问你,如今我们这个行业的创新第一动力是什么,你会怎么回答?

对于德国化学公司巴斯夫(BASF)来说,答案是毋庸置疑的。该公司确信可持续性是全球燃料和润滑油行业的首要创新动力。无可否认,环境法规和政府计划正在提高可持续性和快速跟上新动力总成技术和工业设备发展的相关性。

Markus Scherer
Markus Scherer


2018年9月17日至19日在德国海德堡举行的SAE国际动力总成、燃料和润滑油会议上,巴斯夫基础流体和金属加工液营销总监Markus Scherer,简要说明了可持续性如何推动需要新燃料、新润滑剂、润滑剂和燃料添加剂的流动趋势。

Scherer的演讲题为“可持续性作为新型燃料和润滑剂成份的创新驱动因素”,确定了两个主导出行趋势的“聚类”—排放标准和能源效率。这位科隆大学的毕业生还强调,随着测试周期从实验室转移到实际驾驶条件下的监控,标准本身也变得越来越严苛。

因此,原始设备制造商正在加大电气化工作力度。我们开始看到电动汽车的各种组合以及对新动力总成技术高达数十亿美元的投资。据Scherer介绍,电动汽车将在2020~2024年之前超越“初期采用阶段”,并逐步接近大众消费者的认可程度。混合动力车辆提供桥梁技术,以帮助实现到电池电动车辆的过渡。

Scherer预测,到2030年汽车总数的10%~15%将完全用电池驱动。2030年电动汽车占生产的汽车比重近30%。尽管如此,Scherer承认一些“非常有趣的燃料添加剂技术”在维持传统用途可持续性的作用。

Scherer表示,可持续发展能够在实现更严苛法规和气候目标的同时,实现市场差异化。“对化学和配方不断创新的需求,将持续为新的和现有的动力总成技术提供商机”。

巴斯夫是全球最大的化学品生产商,在欧洲、亚洲、澳大利亚、美洲和非洲等地拥有115,000名员工、6个综合生产基地和390个其他生产基地。Scherer表示,巴斯夫有动力为新型和既有动力系统开发新概念做出“重大贡献”。

Gear Lubricants
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.


2020年以后燃料和润滑油需求的不断变化是“化学工业面临的巨大挑战”。Scherer详细阐述了燃料和润滑油领域的化学工业必须调整适应可持续发展趋势。

他说,燃料添加剂将继续在内燃机的持续可行性中发挥重要作用。智能燃料添加剂将尝试通过现代注塑发动机中有效地控制沉积物来最小化排放通过控制燃料的氧化—燃料添加剂也在燃料稳定性方面发挥至关重要的作用—特别是使用生物燃料等新的替代燃料。Scherer强调了巴斯夫创新产品线中的新型汽油直接喷射沉积物控制添加剂—专门用于防止喷油器积碳,能够比以前更有效地清理喷嘴。他说,这将使微粒排放保持在最低水平。

动力传动系统和发动机润滑油也将通过效率和换油周期驱动的零部件解决方案,支撑可持续发展趋势。关键因素为油量减少、油槽温度升高、现代发动机的功率密度较高,以及会对润滑油产生热应力的新型齿轮箱。此外,纯电动汽车(BEV)和燃料电池电动汽车(FCEV)需要新而且特定设计的润滑剂、润滑脂和成份。

油品规格越来越向低粘度油方向发展,需要提高在高温下的稳定性。Scherer承认超低粘度的发展趋势对于化学工业是“非常具体的挑战”。日本正在推动向0W-8油行动,并希望更低的粘度。二十年前这种粘度水平是根本都不考虑的。

Lubricants testing
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.


但Scherer认为这是该行业真正能发挥作用的领域。常规基础油似乎不可能实现0W-8或更低的粘度。Scherer表示,即使目前最好的合成基础油之一—合成基础油(PAO)也不适用于超低粘度发动机油。需要新型基础油,以满足未来超低粘度机油规格。他说,配制这类油需要新概念、新化学品。

他说,还需要提供大量而且价格更具吸引力的新基础油。巴斯夫代表认为酯基基础油技术能实现未来发动机油对低粘度和低挥发性的目标。

在他的演讲中,Scherer还强调了旨在提高燃油经济性的新型添加剂技术—以切合原始设备制造商的营销宣传中不断强调的燃油经济性。其中包括为最新一代发动机开发无灰摩擦改进剂。

在冷却液方面,使用量和当前差不多。一般来说,数量还是依据车辆尺寸决定。但Scherer建议传统冷却剂不适用于目标冷却温度明显较低的未来车辆。内燃机的目标冷却温度为100-120°C。燃料电池电动汽车(FCEV)需要略低于90-100°C,而纯电动汽车(BEV)温度需要达到45°C时电池才能有效工作。Scherer表示,我们认为冷却剂领域—特别是对于电池电动汽车和燃料电池电动汽车,需要全新的冷却概念。

Scherer将论述改变燃料和润滑剂要求的出行趋势,以及化学工业如何通过创新概念支持这些变化。如需了解详情,请参加2019年3月6日在新加坡君悦酒店举行的燃油和润滑油行业年会。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Sustainability is the industry’s innovation driver

可持续发展是行业的创新驱动力

Sustainability is the industry’s innovation driver
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.

If I asked you, what is the number one driver of innovation in our industry today, what would you say?

For German chemical company BASF, the answer is beyond doubt. The company is convinced sustainability is the principal avant-gardist in the global fuel and lubricant industries. Undeniably, environmental regulations and governmental programs are increasing the relevance of sustainability and fast-tracking development of new powertrain technologies and industrial equipment.

Speaking at the SAE International Powertrains, Fuels and Lubricants Meeting in Heidelberg, Germany, on 17-19 September 2018, the Director of Marketing for Base Fluids and Metalworking at BASF, Markus Scherer, outlined how sustainability is impelling mobility trends which demand new fuels, new lubricants, and lubricant and fuel additives.

Markus Scherer
Markus Scherer

Scherer’s presentation, entitled “Sustainability as an innovation driver for novel fuel and lubricant components,” identified two “clusters” dominating mobility trends — emission standards and energy efficiency. The University of Cologne graduate also emphasised that the standards themselves are becoming increasingly stringent as test cycles shift from the laboratory to monitoring under real-life driving conditions.

Consequently, OEMs are ramping up their electrification efforts. We are beginning to see a broadening portfolio of electric vehicles and billion-dollar investments in new powertrain technology. Electric vehicles will have moved beyond the “early adoption stage” by 2020-2024 timeframe and will be approaching mass consumer acceptance, according to Scherer. Hybrid vehicles provide a bridge technology to aide in the transition to battery electric vehicles.

Scherer predicts 10- 15% of the total car fleet will be fully electrical by 2030, while almost 30% of produced vehicles in 2030 will be electrical. Though, Scherer acknowledges the role of some “very interesting fuel additive technologies” in maintaining the sustainability of conventional applications.

Sustainability provides the ability to differentiate in the marketplace while fulfilling stricter regulations and climate targets, suggests Scherer. “A constant need for innovation in chemistry and formulation will continue to provide opportunities” in both new and existing powertrain technologies.

Gear Lubricants
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.

BASF is the largest chemical producer in the world with 115,000 employees, six integrated production sites and 390 other production sites across Europe, Asia, Australia, the Americas and Africa. BASF is motivated to contribute “heavily” in developing novel concepts for new and existing powertrains, says Scherer.

The changing requirements of fuels and lubricants beyond 2020 are a “big challenge for the chemical industry.” Scherer elaborated on how the chemical industry in the fuels and lubricants fields must adapt to support sustainability trends.

Fuel additives will continue to play a major role in the ongoing viability of the internal combustion engine, he says. Intelligent fuel additives will attempt to minimise emissions with effective deposit control in modern injection engines. Fuel additives will also play a vital role in fuel stability by controlling the oxidation of fuel — particularly with new alternative fuels such as biofuels. Scherer highlighted new gasoline direct injection deposit control additives from BASF’s innovation pipeline — specially tailored to prevent injector coking, with the ability to clean up nozzles more effectively than before. This will keep particulate emissions at a minimum level, he says.

Driveline and engine lubricants will also underpin sustainability trends with component solutions driven by efficiency and drain intervals. Key considerations are lower oil volumes, increases in sump temperatures, higher power densities in modern engines, and new gearboxes that will impose heat stress on lubricants. Additionally, battery electric vehicles (BEV) and fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEV) will require new and design-specific lubricants, greases and components.

Lubricants testing
Photo courtesy of BASF SE.

Oil specifications are increasingly moving towards lower viscosity oils with a necessary increase in stability at higher temperatures. Scherer acknowledged the trend to ultra-low viscosity as a “very specific challenge” for the chemical industry. Japan is leading the charge with a move towards 0W-8 oils and a desire for even lower viscosities. These levels would not have even been considered two decades ago.

However, Scherer believes this is an area where the industry can really contribute. It appears that 0W-8 or lower viscosities are not possible using conventional base oils. Even PAO, one of the best synthetic base stocks available, is not suitable for ultra-low viscosity engine oils, says Scherer. Novel base stocks to meet future ultra-low viscosity engine oil specifications are required. We need new concepts, new chemistries to formulate these oils, he says.

Further, new base stocks need to be available in large quantities with more attractive prices, he says. The BASF representative believes ester base stock technology could satisfy future engine oil requirements for low viscosity and low volatility targets.

During his presentation, Scherer also highlighted novel additive technologies designed to improve fuel economy — in response to the growing use of fuel economy in marketing claims from OEMs. One such technology is the development of ashless friction modifiers for the latest engine generations.

When it comes to coolants, volumes will be similar to today, on average, with volume dictated by vehicle size. However, Scherer advises that conventional coolants will be unsuitable for future vehicles with target cooling temperatures that are significantly lower. Target cooling temperatures for internal combustion engines are 100-120°C. Fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEV) require a slightly lower 90-100°C, whereas battery electric vehicles (BEVs) necessitate a temperature of 45°C to operate the battery in an efficient manner. We believe the coolants area, especially for BEV and FCEV, needs totally new cooling concepts, says Scherer.

Scherer will be discussing the mobility trends changing the requirements for fuels and lubricants, and how the chemical industry can support these changes with innovative concepts, in more detail at F+L Week 2019 on 6 March 2019 at the Grand Hyatt Singapore.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom