Home / FLD / Greg Schwartz is the new president for AXEL Americas and AXEL Royal

Greg Schwartz is the new president for AXEL Americas and AXEL Royal

Greg Schwartz is the new president for AXEL Americas and AXEL Royal
Photo courtesy of AXEL Christiernsson

Lubricating grease maker AXEL Christiernsson AB announced the appointment of Greg Schwartz as the new president for AXEL Americas and AXEL Royal. Schwartz started with AXEL on May 9 and formally took charge as president on May 23, 2022.

AXEL Christiernsson is one of the leading producers and suppliers of lubricating greases in the world, with state-of-the-art manufacturing facilities in Sweden, where the company is headquartered, the Netherlands and France, as well as three plants in the U.S.A.

Schwartz graduated with a degree in chemical engineering from North Carolina State University and later received his MBA from Harvard Business School. He then spent six years with Deloitte Consulting and was a senior manager in their Manufacturing Industry Practice. After three shorter positions, Schwartz joined NCH in 2003 as chief operating officer (COO) of two oil field chemical subsidiaries for 10 years. 

In 2013, he joined NanoMech, which became VinTech Nano Materials in 2019, as vice president, and later served as its president, focusing on industrial and oilfield lubricants. During this time, he became a customer of Royal Manufacturing, which AXEL acquired in 2018 and later became AXEL Royal, a leading manufacturer and marketer of lubricants and greases in the United States, with facilities in Schertz, Texas, and Tulsa, Oklahoma. Most recently Schwartz was COO and vice president of OTA Compression. 

Schwartz is currently living in Dallas, Texas, and will soon relocate to Tulsa. 

Tom Schroeder, who served as president for 10 year, will remain with AXEL as senior vice president, Commercial, with responsibility for Sales  & Marketing. He will also continue his elected positions on the Boards of the National Lubricating Grease Institute (NLGI) and the Independent Lubricant Manufacturers Association (ILMA).