NLGI achievement award presented to David Turner

The National Lubricating Grease Institute (NLGI), which is meeting this week at Coeur dโ€™Alene, Idaho, U.S.A., presented the NLGI Award for Achievement to David Turner.

The award is the highest NLGI award and honors the achievement of those who have made exceptional contributions to the growth and development of the industry. Turner, who recently retired from Shell Global Solutions, is joining Citgo Petroleum in Houston, Texas, in July.

Recipients of other awards included Terry Smith of Lubrication Engineers Inc., who was presented the John A. Bellanti Sr. Memorial Service Trophy; Chuck Coe of Grease Technology Solutions, who received the NLGI Fellow Award; Paul Bertin of Elevance Renewable Sciences, who received the NLGI Author Award for Best Paper presented at the Annual Meeting that focuses on the formulation, development and manufacture of finished greases for his paper entitled โ€œNovel Long-Chain Dibasic Complexing Agents for Lithium Thickened Grease;โ€ Bill Tuszynski of Ivanhoe Industries Inc. received the Clarence E. Earle Memorial Award for his outstanding contribution to the technical literature relating to lubricating greases during the year.

The NLGI Author Award for Best Paper presented at the Annual Meeting that focuses on testing, selection, application or use of greases, was given to Gaston Aguilar of Afton Chemical for his paper entitled โ€œThe Effect of Thickener on EP Additive Response.โ€

The NLGI Award for Educational Excellence was presented to Richard Burkhalter of Covenant Engineering Services for outstanding instruction as exemplified by subject knowledge and presentation skills in NLGI Grease Educational courses.

Honorary membership was presented to Ed Oravec, Shell Canada (retired).

The NLGI President Recognition award was presented to outgoing NLGI President Bruce Urban of FMC-Lithium Division.