Home / FLD / STLE honors Northwestern’s Wang and Shell’s Gunsel with STLE International Award

STLE honors Northwestern’s Wang and Shell’s Gunsel with STLE International Award

Maureen Hunter, current president of the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE), bestowed the STLE International Award to Qian (Jane) Wang, a professor at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., U.S.A., and Selda Gunsel, Shell vice president of lubricants technology based in Woodlands, Texas, U.S.A. during the general opening session at STLE’s 70th Annual Meeting & Exhibition being held in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A. from 17-21 May.

The STLE International Award is STLE’s highest technical award and bestows lifetime honorary membership on the recipient. It is given in recognition of the recipient’s outstanding contributions in tribology, lubrication engineering or allied fields.

Wang graduated in 1982 with a B.S. Mechanical Engineering from Xian University of Technology, Xian, China in 1982. She obtained her M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Ill., U.S.A. in 1989 and Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., U.S.A. in 1993, respectively.

Wang has been recognized with other awards in the recent past for her achievements in the field of tribology, including the Edmond E Bisson Best Written Technical Contribution Award, STLE (2010); STLE Fellow, (2007); and Captain Alfred E. Hunt Best Paper Award, STLE (1997), to name a few.

Gunsel received her BSc in Chemical Engineering from the Istanbul Technical University in Turkey and an MSc and PhD, also in Chemical Engineering, from the Pennsylvania State University, U.S.A.

She has published extensively in the field of lubrication science, received patents and is well known in the industry. She has served as president of STLE and chairman of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Lubricants Research Award Board. She is a member of the Industrial Advisory Board of Penn State University and serves on the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Lubrication Science, UK, and Tribology Transactions, U.S.A. She has chaired and delivered keynote addresses at many international conferences.

She has received numerous awards including STLE Fellow for outstanding personal achievement in lubrication science, R&D 100 Innovation Award, SAE International Excellence in Presentation Award, STLE Captain Alfred E. Hunt Best Paper Award, Penn State Outstanding Engineering Alumna Award and internal awards for both innovation and leadership in diversity and inclusiveness.