June 07, 2020

F+L Webcast | Leaderboard | 600×75
article image
我们的行业正处在其有史以来最大变革的时期。技术迅速发展,企业不得不为迎接数字行业的挑战而更加敏捷,在面对未来的不确定性时对其企业迅速而有效地找准定位。

我们这个行业进步不够快的原因之一是规范发展跟不上。尽管技术变革步伐加快,但许多规格发展方法因为既费力又太复杂而受到诟病。

F+L Week 2019 Speakers. From top left: Teri Kowalski, Kevin Ferrick, Raj Padmanabhan, Junmin Zhao, Steve Benwell, and KK Gandhi.

From top left: Teri Kowalski, Kevin Ferrick, Raj Padmanabhan, Junmin Zhao, Steve Benwell, and KK Gandhi.



ILSAC GF-6是即将在北美发布的下一个全球性主要发动机油规格,助力火花点火式内燃机发动机油的性能提升到新的高度。GF-6规格早在2011年即已首次推出新概念。但GF-6规格的出台则是一推再推。截止目前,该规格的首个许可还在期待中。我们距离这个新标准还有多远?丰田汽车北美公司的首席工程师Teri Kowalski将于3月4日至7日在新加坡君悦酒店再次莅临燃油和润滑油年会,届时将会分享有关ILSAC GF-6规格备受期待的最新动态。

虽然经历过多次受人瞩目的延迟,但在这个快速推进的世界,规格仍像以往一样重要,并支撑着技术变革。标准是质量的保证。有了标准,行业优质产品才能不断被发明和制造,安全性、公平性得到提高、全球对产品和实践的接受会更快。

2019年燃油和润滑油年会的主题是“面向2020年及以后的先进和未来技术”。许多国际知名的演讲者和商界思想领袖在年会上齐聚一堂,畅谈即将到来的燃料和润滑剂技术和趋势。除无数个新技术,燃油和润滑油年会还将着眼于未来十年的行业发展,谈论行业最新规格的发展动态。

美国石油学会(API)是美国最大的石油和天然气行业的行业协会,近100年来一直是建立和维护全球石油行业标准的基石。全球行业服务部门高级经理凯文·费利克(Kevin Ferrick)负责管理API的发动机油许可和认证系统(EOLCS)。该系统是一个旨在定义、认证和监控发动机油性能的自愿许可和认证计划。API服务标志“圆环图”(Donut)和API认证标识“爆星图”(Starburst),可帮助客户辨别出使用于他们的车辆的高品质引擎油。另外,Ferrick还管理API的柴油机尾气处理液认证和机油事故举报计划。

在3月7日举行的燃油和润滑油年会美国汽车工程师学会亚洲指导委员会座谈会上,费利克(Ferrick)将发表题为API:新规格开发的潜在变化”的演讲,总结润滑油标准开发评审小组对API发动机油标准制定过程的评估。该演讲还将谈及一份建议的时间表。

总部位于美国华盛顿特区的API,其标准日益为世界各国采用。但同时,中国也迅速崛起为规格发展的领导者。国六排放标准被认为是全球控制汽车污染物排放最严格的标准之一,其严格程度堪比欧盟的欧VI标准,在有些方面甚至更严。

排放监管方面领先世界固然值得称道,而且可能在中长期内实现大幅减排,但挑战也不无存在。雪佛龙奥伦耐的亚太区域汽车发动机油和粘度指数改进剂产品线经理Raj Ramaprabhu,将重点介绍若干挑战。他的演讲题目为“重型发动机润滑与国六和印度BS VI实施的挑战”。Ramaprabhu将总结满足国六和BS VI需求的活动,包括发动机/车队服务数据的比较,添加剂和润滑油配方的开发以及现场性能数据。另外,印度汽车制造商协会(SIAM)长期担任技术总监的行业顾问—K.K Gandhi将以“印度印度国六(Bharat Stage VI)排放标准对石油行业的挑战和机遇”为题演讲。

同样关注中国规格的进步,来自路博润中国的发动机油区域业务经理Junmin Zhao将做题为“国六时代中国润滑油市场面临的重大挑战”的演讲。他将从轻型油的角度谈对中国规格发展的影响。

F+L Week 2019 Speakers: From top left: Kazuo Yamamori, Paula Vettel, See Tien Tan, R Ramaprabhu, Kien-Wee Tan, and Zhu Heju.

From top left: Kazuo Yamamori, Paula Vettel, See Tien Tan, R Ramaprabhu, Kien-Wee Tan, and Zhu Heju.



日本汽车制造商协会(JAMA)是开发高品质润滑油的先驱。JAMA最近宣布了2019年4月首次获得新JASO乘用车机油(PCMO)规格许可的目标日期。新规格允许使用超低粘度的发动机油,如SAE 0W-8。丰田汽车公司摩擦材料部项目经理Kazuo Yamamori,将概述这一新标准的现状,并发表题为“JASO ULV(0W-8)PCMO规格”的演讲。该规格不久即将全球首次发布。

规格的不断发展不单单存在于汽车行业。国际海事组织颁布MARPOL公约附则VI规定之后,海洋工业各部门的燃料供应将在随后18个月内将经历最大的变革。该附则修订了船用燃料的硫总含量限值。2018年欧洲生态标签和船舶准入许可证审查和更新后,船东会面临更大的复杂性。多个行业专家将介绍海洋法规的最新变化,包括润英联(Infineum)的Steve Benwel、Novvi公司的Paula Vettel和雪佛龙奥伦耐的See Tien Tan。

在汽车行业,最近法规变化的重点大多为燃油经济性和排放的改善,这是因为我们在努力减少二氧化碳并减缓全球变暖。二氧化碳排量为零的电池电动汽车(BEV)正越来越普及。许多人认为内燃机(ICE)即将被淘汰。尽管如此,内燃机车辆的发展仍具有现实意义。

在一场大会演讲中,日产汽车公司动力总成/电动车工程部专家组长木村秀次将推动新一代ICE“零排放车辆”的可能性,达到纯电动车(BEV)的二氧化碳排量标准。

  1. Ramaprabhu负责印度马亨德拉汽车公司的乘用车、拖拉机和商用车用流体开发和认证。他将发表润滑剂配方对提高效率的效果、耐久性保护的挑战以及配方的局限性等问题的看法。他的演讲题目为“润滑油改善汽车燃料经济性的潜力及挑战”


Kien-Wee Tan,赢创油品添加剂亚太区域总部的技术服务经理(SEAANZ),将就粘度指数改进剂(VII)对燃油经济性发动机油中活塞沉积物形成的影响发表演讲。随后中石化的高级工程师Zhu Heju将做进一步论述,概述“节能润滑技术”,重点为基础油、粘度指数改进剂(VII)和摩擦改性剂对发动机燃油经济性的影响。

F+L Week 2019 Speakers. From top left: Teri Crosby, Ed Becker, Shuji Kimura, and Yanis Frikha.

From top left: Teri Crosby, Ed Becker, Shuji Kimura, and Yanis Frikha.



但内燃机汽车的所有这些调适是否是对电动汽车(EV)未来一统天下的无奈?汽车发动机油全球产品线经理泰瑞·克罗斯比(Teri Crosby)的演讲将介绍雪佛龙奥伦耐对未来电动汽车的推广前景,并将在3月6日的电动汽车专题会议上重点谈论对润滑油和添加剂行业的潜在影响。Friction & Wear Solutions, LLC公司总裁Edward Becker在通用汽车公司工作30年(主要在动力总成部门)后退休。他将简要回顾车辆推进方法的演变过程,随后讲电动汽车的最新状况,包括混合动力汽车、电池和燃料电池。每种汽车面临哪些润滑挑战,都将一一介绍。

全球润滑油供应商—道达尔公司,在研发并生产出符合电动动力系统新技术要求的液体方面已投入了大量资金。但该公司呼吁更好地了解流体电性能及其与所涉及新材料的兼容性。道达尔产品开发经理Yanis Frikha将发表题为“混合动力与电动汽车:新型油液系列”的演讲,展示道达尔快驰电动汽车油液系列中部分润滑油与市场上的基准油液相比,在主要特性上的表现。

欢迎参加我们于2019年3月4日至7日在新加坡举行的九场会议、40位行业领先的演讲者、两场会前研讨会、三项最有影响力的行业奖项以及无与伦比的网络和商业配对平台。您可以在F + L Week 2019网站https://www.flweek.fuelsandlubes.com/ 查看我们的初步安排。
< Previous

Ethylene amines: An insight

World Energy Outlook 2018: A version of the future

Croda Rewitec | FLM Vertical Rectangle | 390×540

Industry specifications: Handbrake or accelerator?

行业规格:制动器还是加速器?

Industry specifications: Handbrake or accelerator?

Our industry is undergoing the greatest transformation in its history. This rapid technological advancement is forcing businesses to become more agile, to embrace the challenges of a digital industry, and to quickly and efficiently position their organisations for an uncertain future.

One aspect of our industry that is not so fast moving is the specification development process.  Despite the increasing pace of technological change, many specifications development methods have been criticised as laborious and overly complex.

From top left: Teri Kowalski, Kevin Ferrick, Raj Padmanabhan, Junmin Zhao, Steve Benwell, and KK Gandhi.

ILSAC GF-6 is the next major global engine oil specification to be released in North America, unlocking a new performance level of engine oils for spark-ignited internal combustion engines. Delays to GF-6 are well documented. Initial development of GF-6 began back in 2011 and we are still awaiting first licensing. Where are we at with this new standard? Teri Kowalski, principal engineer at Toyota Motor North America, Inc., returns to F+L Week in 2019 to be held from 4-7 March, at the Grand Hyatt Singapore, to provide a much anticipated update on ILSAC GF-6.

Despite several high-profile delays, specifications remain as important as ever in this hastily advancing world and provide the backbone of technological change. Standards guarantee quality, enable the industry to invent and manufacture superior products consistently, improve safety, fairness, and speed up the acceptance of products and practices globally.

The theme of F+L Week 2019 is “Advanced and Future Technologies – 2020 and Beyond,” where internationally acclaimed speakers and business thought leaders will address forthcoming fuel and lubricant technologies and trends. Alongside a myriad of new technologies, F+L Week will also provide an update on the latest industry specifications that will underscore the advancement of our industry over the next decade.

The American Petroleum Institute (API) is the largest U.S. trade association for the oil and natural gas industry and has been a cornerstone in establishing and maintaining standards for the global oil industry for almost 100 years. Kevin Ferrick, senior manager, Global Industry Services, manages API’s Engine Oil Licensing and Certification System (EOLCS), a voluntary licensing program designed to define, certify, and monitor engine oil performance. The familiar EOLCS Service Symbol “donut” and Certification Mark “starburst,” classify quality engine oils for gasoline and diesel-powered vehicles. Ferrick also manages API’s Diesel Exhaust Fluid Certification and Motor Oil Matters programs.

During the SAE Asian Steering Committee Colloquia at F+L Week on 7 March, Ferrick will summarize the Lubricants Standards Development Review Group’s evaluation of API’s engine oil standard-setting processes, in a presentation entitled “API: Potential Changes in New Specification Development.” The presentation will also provide a timeline for recommendations.

API is based in Washington, D.C., U.S.A., with their standards increasingly adopted in countries throughout the world. However, China is also quickly becoming a leader in specification development. China VI is considered one of the most stringent emissions regulations in the world, comparable to and in some cases more stringent than the European Union’s Euro VI norms.

While leading the world on emissions regulation is laudable, and likely to deliver substantial emission reduction in the medium to long term, it is not without its challenges. Raj Padmanabhan, Chevron Oronite’s Asia Pacific regional product line manager, Automotive Engine Oils & Viscosity Index Improvers, will highlight several of these challenges, with a presentation on “Heavy Duty Engine Lubrication and Challenges with China VI and India BS VI implementation.”  Padmanabhan will summarise activities to meet China VI and BS VI needs, including a comparison of engine/fleet service data, the development of additive and lubricating oil formulations, and field performance data. Additionally, a presentation on India’s Bharat Stage VI challenges and opportunities for the oil industry will be made by K.K Gandhi, an industry consultant who had a long career as technical director of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM).

Also focusing on China specification advancements, Junmin Zhao, regional business manager, Engine Oils, from Lubrizol China, will address “The Significant Challenges for the China Lubricant Market in the China 6 Era.” Zhao will provide a light-duty perspective on China’s specification development impact.

From top left: Kazuo Yamamori, Paula Vettel, See Tien Tan, R Ramaprabhu, Kien-Wee Tan, and Zhu Heju.

The Japanese Automobile Manufacturers Association (JAMA) is a forerunner in the development of high-quality lubricants. JAMA has recently announced an April 2019 target date for first licensing of a new JASO passenger car motor oil (PCMO) specification. The new specification will allow for extra low viscosity engine oils such as SAE 0W-8. Kazuo Yamamori, project manager of the Tribology Material Department at Toyota Motor Corp. will outline the current status of this new standard with a presentation on the “JASO ULV (0W-8) PCMO Specification,” which will be unveiled on the global stage for the first time.

It is not only the automotive sector where specifications are continually evolving. Arguably, the marine industry is undergoing the greatest change to fuel supply of any sector during the next 18 months following the International Maritime Organization’s MARPOL Annex VI regulation,  which is instituting change to global sulphur limits for marine fuel. A 2018 review and update of the European Ecolabel and Vessels General Permit has added further complexity for ship owners. Several industry experts will discuss recent changes to marine regulations, including Infineum’s Steve Benwell, Novvi’s Paula Vettel and Chevron Oronite’s See Tien Tan.

In the automotive sector, much of the recent changes to regulation is focused on fuel economy and emissions improvements — as we battle to reduce carbon dioxide and mitigate global warming. An increasing adoption of battery electric vehicles (BEV) that deliver no CO2 emissions is well documented. Many believe we are approaching the end of the road, so-to-speak, of the internal combustion engine (ICE). Though, the evolution of vehicles equipped with ICEs is still pertinent.

In a plenary address, Shuji Kimura, expert leader, Powertrain/EV Engineering Division, Nissan Motor Co., will promote the possibility of a new generation ICE ‘ZERO Emission Vehicle’ with the same well to wheel CO2 emission as BEVs.

Ramaprabhu, who is responsible for fluids development and approval of passenger car, tractor & commercial vehicles at India’s Mahindra & Mahindra, will present a study into the effect of lubricant formulations on efficiency improvements, the challenges of durability protection, and the limitations of formulations, entitled “Potential & Challenges in Fuel Economy Improvement of Automotive Vehicles by Lubricants.”

Kien-Wee Tan, technical service manager (SEAANZ), at Evonik Oil Additives Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd, will present on the impact of viscosity index improvers (VII) on the formation of piston deposits in fuel economy engine oils.  Tan’s presentation will be complemented by Sinopec’s Senior Engineer  Zhu Heju who will outline “Energy-Saving Lubrication Technology,” focusing on the effects of base oils, viscosity index improvers (VII) and friction modifiers on the fuel economy performance of an engine.

From top left: Teri Crosby, Ed Becker, Shuji Kimura, and Yanis Frikha.

But are all these ICE adaptations merely futile against the inevitability of electric vehicle (EV) domination?  Teri Crosby, global product line manager for Automotive Engine Oils, will provide Chevron Oronite’s future outlook on EV uptake, and will highlight the potential impacts to the lubricants and additives industries during the electric vehicles session on 6 March.  Edward Becker, president of Friction & Wear Solutions, LLC, who retired from General Motors Corp. after 30 years of service, mostly in the Powertrain division, will provide a brief history of vehicle propulsion methods, followed by an update on the current status of EVs, including hybrids, batteries, and fuel cells. The lubrication challenges of each will be presented.

Global lubricant supplier Total has invested heavily in research and development to produce fluids that meet the new technical requirements of electric powertrains. However, the company is calling for greater understanding of fluid electrical properties and its compatibility with the new materials involved. Yanis Frikha, product development manager at Total, will deliver a presentation entitled “Hybrid & Electric Vehicles:  A New Range of Fluid,” that will demonstrate how some fluids of the TOTAL QUARTZ EV-FLUID range are behaving on major properties in comparison to reference fluids in the market.

Join us in Singapore from 4-7 March 2019, for nine sessions, 40 industry-leading speakers, two pre-conference workshops, three prestigious industry awards, and an unrivalled networking and business matching platform. You can check out our preliminary program at the F+L Week 2019 website: https://www.flweek.fuelsandlubes.com/.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
IPAC Depth | FLD Medium Tile Top | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 3 2019

Quarter Three 2019, Volume 25, Issue 3

Click to view


300x600wechat