Sea-Land Chemical announces retirement of President Joe Clayton

Sea-Land Chemical Company, a leading specialty chemical distributor, today has announced that Joseph (Joe) Clayton will retire as president effective December 31, 2017. Clayton has been with the company for 34 years, including the past 16 years as president. He will continue to support the company as a member of its Board of Directors.

โ€œOver the past several years, a number of strategic company initiatives were introduced to support our robust growth, strengthen the management team and enhance the family-oriented, employee ownership culture of the company going forward,โ€ said Clayton. โ€œAs a 100% employee-owned company for over 35 years, developing and educating the next generation of managers and leaders has been a priority. We have also hired people from outside the organization with skills we did not possess internally to support our growth. The result of this is an experienced management team that has the knowledge and expertise to run our business. With the current team in place, we are well positioned to meet our future goals and the expectations of our customers and supplier partners.โ€

In August, Sea-Land Chemicalโ€™s board of directors appointed Jennifer Altstadt as chief operating officer, overseeing all operations of Sea-Land Chemical and its subsidiaries in Canada and Europe.

Altstadt will be supported by an experienced executive leadership team consisting of Mark Christeon, executive vice president; Craig Lundell, senior vice president; Jack McKenna, vice president; and, Mark Getsay, senior vice president/chief financial officer.

Founded in Cleveland, Ohio in 1964, Sea-Land Chemical Co. is an employee-owned distributor of specialty chemicals. Sea-Land Chemical Co. provides a variety of products to the lubricants; household, industrial & institutional cleaner; coatings and adhesives; and rubber and plastics industries. Currently, Sea-Land Chemical has seven strategically located warehouses in North America and two warehouses in Europe.