亚洲开发银行(ADB):减少碳网格是降低电动汽车温室气体排放的关键因素

ADB: Lower grid carbon factor essential in achieving GHG reduction from electric vehicles

ADB: Lower grid carbon factor essential in achieving GHG reduction from electric vehicles
2015年,全球道路行驶车辆包括9.47亿辆客车和3.35亿辆商用车。受亚洲发展中国家汽车保有量快速增长的驱动,到2040年,汽车保有量有望翻番。仅在2015年,交通领域的二氧化碳排放量就达到了75亿吨,约占全球能源排放的四分之一。

电动汽车不会产生直接排放或燃烧排放,并被宣传为降低温室气体和城市空气污染浓度的新技术。毋庸置疑,汽车电动化将大力推动向清洁能源系统的转换,许多国家已经实施了电动汽车政策,鼓励推广电动汽车。

Ki-Joon Kim
Ki-Joon Kim


清洁能源部长会议是世界多个主要经济体的合作机制,目的是推动全球清洁能源发展。该机构近期开展的EV30@30倡议期望加快电动汽车的推广,计划到2030年将电动汽车销售份额提升到30%。这一倡议的支持国家包括加拿大、中国、芬兰、法国、日本、墨西哥、荷兰、挪威、瑞典、英国,以及世界第二大人口国——印度。

9月12日到14日,亚洲开发银行在菲律宾的马尼拉举办了题为“推动亚太地区未来交通发展”的2018年度国际交通论坛峰会。亚洲开发银行可持续发展和气候变化部交通运输组首席交通专家Ki-Joon Kim在前沿技术大会上发言时指出,亚洲开发银行研究结果显示,印度等国家当前的网格因素较高,仅通过推广电动汽车实现的温室气体减排量非常有限。他说碳网格和排放标准较低的国家能够获得更大的发展机遇。

印度、印尼、哈萨克斯坦、蒙古、土库曼斯坦等亚洲国家的发电碳排放系数较高,Kim认为电动汽车推广产生的温室气体减排与碳网格因素密切相关。如果网格因素低于0.8 kg CO2/kWh,国家便可以“从中获益”。他说电动汽车的排放量低于同等规格的化石燃料汽车,化石燃料汽车的网格因素高达1.2 kg CO2/kWh。而且,亚美尼亚、普达、美国佐治亚州、吉尔吉斯斯坦、老挝、塔吉克斯坦和尼泊尔的可再生电力市场份额较高,因此这些地区通过推广电动汽车可能会明显降低温室气体排放。

Average WTW GHG Emissions of Standard Vehicle Categories (gCO2e/km). Source: ADB.印度在改善电力供应方面投入了巨资。4月28日,印度总理Narendra Modi宣布,已完成了村村通电的目标,这一里程碑事件被国际能源署称之为“能源史上最伟大的成就”。从2000年开始,印度约有五亿人用上了电。根据国际能源署的数据,过去五年来采取的政治措施大幅推动了这一进程的发展。2017年,印度电力需求的增加使全球发电量增加了3.1%。

从表面上看,电力化、效率提升以及生物燃料等减排措施似乎产生了一定影响,2017年的全球交通排放量仅增长了0.6%(过去十年的年交通排放量增长率为1.7%)。

2017年,电动汽车存量破纪录地超过了300万辆大关,该年度的销售量达到了110万辆,比2016年提升了54%。中国占到全球电动车总量的40%,而挪威电动汽车的市场占有率遥遥领先,达到39.2%,排名第二的是瑞典,但其电动汽车市场份额仅有6.3%。

GHG Reduction potential with EVs. Source: ADB.但是需要注意的是,尽管近年来纯电动车和插电式混合动力汽车取得了较好的发展,但电动汽车的全球市场渗透率在所有汽车中的占比仍不足1%。Kim认为出现这一情况可归因于以下几个原因:电动汽车销售价格一直处于高位、大型车辆的单次充电续航里程不足、充电站点较少、充电耗时较长等。尽管电动汽车的绝对数量在持续增长,但他说:“政策的普遍性和一贯性以及技术支持是维持这一优质增长的关键。”

目前,电动汽车的推广主要依赖政策的支持和推动。中国和挪威均实施了最强劲的电动汽车推广政策,因此他们的电动汽车体量和市场份额处于世界领先地位也是理所当然。Kim还说,印度也实施了鼓励电动交通的重大优惠政策。

最近,印度宣布了五年内实现道路机动车电动化达到15%的目标。印度交通部长Nitin Gadkari在印度汽车制造商协会近期在新德里举行的会议上重申了这一目标,他认为印度的Electric Vehicle Grid Charger电动汽车需求量“巨大”,实现15%的电动化目标并不困难。但是,与中国的情况不同,印度正在通过实施非财政激励政策推动电动汽车的发展,并认为从长远来看,直接补贴不是促进电动汽车的可持续方式。

Kim演讲时还向与会代表提出了适用于亚洲的各类减排建议,他提出如果各国政府侧重于卡车、客车和大型车辆等高里程车辆,并将重点转向主要城市,将取得最大的影响,而不应采取一刀切的方法或政策。

无论印度的电网能达到多高的绿色水平,也不管如何快速实现这一提升,Kim重申电网脱碳是电动汽车推广的关键。仅通过电动汽车销售并不能保证一定能解决温室气体排放问题。他还呼吁实施更严格的电池政策,进一步提升汽车的设计水平,同时扩大充电基础设施建设。

减少化石燃料补贴是必由之路,同时Kim提出进一步实施补贴和税收优惠等电动汽车激励政策,以及气体非财政性激励政策,包括电动汽车新路径或者进入市中心的优先权等。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

ADB: Lower grid carbon factor essential in achieving GHG reduction from electric vehicles

亚洲开发银行(ADB):减少碳网格是降低电动汽车温室气体排放的关键因素

ADB: Lower grid carbon factor essential in achieving GHG reduction from electric vehicles

In 2015, 947 million passenger cars and 335 million commercial vehicles were active on roads around the world. Driven by a rapid vehicle increase forecast for developing countries in Asia, the number of cars is expected to double by 2040. Also in 2015, the transport sector emitted 7.5 billion tonnes of CO2, just under a quarter of global energy-related emissions.

Electric vehicles (EV) produce no direct or combustion emissions and are regularly touted as the silver bullet for reducing greenhouse gas (GHG) and urban air pollution concentrations. Certainly, transport electrification plays a vital role in facilitating the shift to a clean energy system, and many countries have implemented EV policies to encourage EV adoption.

Ki-Joon Kim
Ki-Joon Kim

The Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) is a partnership of many of the world’s key economies with a view to accelerating the global energy transition. A recent campaign by the organisation, EV30@30, is looking to hasten the deployment of electric vehicles and targets a 30% sales share for EVs by 2030. Supporting governments include Canada, China, Finland, France, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the second most populous country in the world, India.

The Transport Forum 2018, organized by the Asian Development Bank (ADB) in Manila, Philippines, from 12-14 September was dedicated to “Financing The Future of Transport in Asia and the Pacific.” Speaking in the Innovative Technology Plenary, Ki-Joon Kim, principal transport specialist, Transport Sector Group, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department at the ADB, reported that based on an ADB study, countries like India will only achieve limited GHG reductions by deploying EVs due to their current high grid factor. Countries with a lower grid factor and low emission standard provide far greater opportunity, he says.

India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Mongolia and Turkmenistan are all Asian countries with a high carbon factor in electricity production. Kim confirms the GHG reduction potential from EV deployment is closely matched with the carbon grid factor. If the grid factor is below 0.8 kg CO2/kWh, then the country “can still benefit.” EVs exhibit lower emissions than comparable fossil fuel vehicles up to a grid factor of 1.2 kg CO2/kWh, says Kim. Armenia, Bhutan, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Tajikistan and Nepal have the potential to deliver significant emissions reductions from EV adoption, due to a high share of renewable electricity, he says.

IAverage WTW GHG Emissions of Standard Vehicle Categories (gCO2e/km). Source: ADB.ndia has invested heavily in improving the availability of electricity. On April 28, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the government had achieved its goal of providing every village in India access to electricity, a milestone which the International Energy Agency (IEA) hailed as “one of the greatest achievements in the history of energy.” Approximately half a billion people in India have gained access to electricity since 2000 and, according to the IEA, a political effort during the past five years has significantly accelerated this process. India’s acceleration in electricity demand has contributed heavily to a 3.1% increase in world electricity generation in 2017.

On the face of it, efforts to curb emissions such as electrification, efficiency improvements and biofuels appear to be having an impact. Global transport emissions grew by only 0.6% in 2017 (compared to 1.7% annually over the past decade).

The stock of EVs surpassed the three million mark in 2017, with a total of 1.1 million sales during the calendar year — a 54% increase from 2016. China accounts for 40% of the world’s electric cars, while Norway is streaks ahead of anyone in terms of market share, at 39.2%. Sweden is a distant second at 6.3% market share.

GHG Reduction potential with EVs. Source: ADB.However, it is important to recognise that despite growth in battery electric and plugin hybrid vehicles in recent years, the overall penetration of electric cars is still below 1% of the global car fleet. Kim attributes this relatively slow adoption to a continuing high purchase price of EVs, limited range on a single charge for larger vehicles, poor access to charging stations and lengthy charge times. Despite an increase in absolute numbers, “consistent and widespread policy and technical support is essential to maintain this growth in an optimum way,” he says.

To date, EV deployment has mostly been driven by policy. China and Norway have implemented the strongest policy push for EVs, so it is no surprise they’re the leaders in terms of volume and share. India too has implemented significant policies encouraging e-mobility, confirms Kim.

India recently announced a goal of 15% of vehicles on its roads to be electric in five years. India’s Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari confirmed this lofty ambition at a recent conference organized by the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) in New Delhi. Gadkari believes the 15% target can easily be achieved as demand for EVs is “huge” in India. However, unlike China, India is promoting EVs though non-fiscal incentives and believes direct subsidies are not a sustainable way of promoting EVs for the longer-term perspective.

Electric Vehicle Grid ChargerDuring his presentation, Kim offered a variety of recommendations to delegates to augment emissions reduction in Asia. Rather than a one-size-fits-all approach to policy, Kim suggested the highest impact will be achieved if governments focus on high mileage vehicles — trucks and buses, large fleets, and in major cities.

How green is the electricity grid In India, and how quickly will this improve? Decarbonising the grid is key in the rollout of EVs, reiterates Kim. Just buying EVs does not guarantee success in tackling this emissions challenge. He also called for tighter regulation around battery policy, further improvements in the design of vehicles, and greater availability of charging infrastructure.

A reduction in fossil fuel subsidies is necessary, and Kim proposes the creation of further incentive packages for EVs, such as subsidies and tax entitlements, alongside non-financial incentives — which could include new routes reserved for EVs or even preferential access to city centres.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2019 and ALMU AGM | Tower | 300×600

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2018 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2018, Volume 24, Issue 4

Click to view