东盟:欧六标准的路线图

ASEAN: A roadmap to Euro VI

ASEAN: A roadmap to Euro VI
在吸热的温室气体中,二氧化碳(CO2)是罪魁祸首。二氧化碳被公认为是全球升温的最主要原因。因此,全球努力大多集中在降低大气中的二氧化碳水平,以避免未来气候变化的最不利影响。

坏消息是,二氧化碳在大气中的存续时间极长。我们的二氧化碳诱导实践的突然变化不会神奇地缓解我们所处的困境。即使我们降低排放水平,二氧化碳浓度趋于稳定也得需要几十年。

好消息是,虽然二氧化碳的问题会持续多年,但短期内仍有可能影响全球升温。

化石燃料、生物燃料和生物质燃烧不完全,会产生一种人们较为陌生但更强有力的污染物—炭黑。炭黑是仅次于二氧化碳的全球变暖第二大促进因素。炭黑颗粒在大气中的生命周期只有短短几周,因此减少炭黑排放可以对减少气候变暖产生更直接的影响,也能带来其他诸多公共健康益处。

Josh Miller
Josh Miller


国际清洁交通委员会(ICCT)高级研究员Josh Miller表示,未来30年减少变暖的机会主要在于减少短期内气候污染物(SLCP),其中包括炭黑、甲烷、地面臭氧和氢氟碳化合物。Miller拥有六年与政府合作解决车辆和燃料空气污染的经验,目前负责领导ICCT下辖20运输任务组的活动。

Miller在2018年11月14日马来西亚古晋举行的第10届更好的空气质量大会上发言时指出,关于在亚洲实施欧四标准和制定欧六的路线图,将炭黑与其他SLCP结合会产生半摄氏度的温度效益。

运输行业应对炭黑排放量的19%负责,其中柴油发动机是主要贡献者。颗粒本身强烈地吸收阳光并使烟灰变黑。尽管近期“柴油门”(Dieselgate)丑闻导致柴油车受到重创、欧洲柴油销量大幅下滑,但全球公路运输柴油需求依然强劲。

欧洲和世界其他地区所售柴油车多为客车,但炭黑最大的问题来自重载车辆。Miller表示,四分之三以上的道路柴油车能源用量和炭黑源自重载车辆。这是一个“货运行业主要使用柴油为动力的国家和公交车以柴油为动力的国家都面临的严重问题”。

我还有更多好消息向大家报告。我们已经拥有柴油车辆99%的炭黑和细颗粒的去除技术,其中柴油颗粒过滤器。事实上,售出的新重载柴油车中40%符合世界级排放标准。

气候与清洁空气联盟(CCAC)是联合世界各国政府、政府间组织、企业、科学机构和民间组织自愿成立的合作组织,致力于通过减少短期气候污染物的行动来改善空气质量。

由CCAC发起的“载重车减排倡议”迫切要求通过采用清洁燃料和车辆法规,实现炭黑的大幅减少,其中的主要关注点是柴油导致生成的炭黑。

Miller强调,燃料硫标准和清洁汽车是降低排量的重要举措。OECD经济体大多都已通过超低硫柴油和柴油排放控制技术,大幅降低了载重柴油汽车细颗粒物和的排量。但与此形成对比,排放的全球重心已经转移到尚未采用无烟标准的国家,而这些国家大多分布在亚洲。

2016年12月举行CCAC高级别会议期间,36个国家正式批准了一项应对微粒和排放问题的全球战略。目标是到2025年所有国家都实现低硫燃料(<50 ppm),到2030年大多数国家要在柴油和汽油均达到超低硫(<10ppm)。10ppm硫燃料允许引入全球公认的欧洲排放标准。该联盟相信到2050年,在上述成就的基础上,炭黑的排量将累计减少710万吨。但Miller说,目前使用规定的超低硫燃料的国家数量不足70个。

Singapore CBD subject to Euro VI standards.
Photo courtesy of Basile Morin.


尽管有上述全球战略以及相关技术的可得到性,东盟国家仍需为先进的排放控制保证提供低硫燃料。东南亚国家联盟是一个区域政府间组织,由11个东南亚国家组成,包括马来西亚、柬埔寨、印度尼西亚、菲律宾、东帝汶、老挝、新加坡、越南、文莱、缅甸和泰国。

泰国亚洲理工学院顾问Supat Wangwongwatana提供了一份东盟地区实现超低硫燃料和欧六标准的最新路线图。Supat说:东盟适用标准从欧一(甚至欧一前)到欧六不等。在这方面,新加坡明显走在了前面,早在2017年就已实施了欧六标准。

从标准适用的角度,汽油领先于柴油。Wangwongwatana表示,东盟国家中有一半在2018年已经为轻型汽油车实施了欧四标准。虽然新加坡走在前面,但泰国目前正在推行欧六标准。短期目标是东盟国家(计划推行欧二标准的文莱除外)到2020年1月达到欧四标准。

Supat Watwongwatana
Supat Watwongwatana


从柴油车的角度来看,东盟国家大多还在遵循欧二或欧三排放标准。新加坡仍是领先者(欧六),泰国的轻型车辆实施欧四标准、重载车辆仍在实施欧三标准。Wangwongwatana表示,尽管泰国已于2018年即已执行欧四摩托车标准,但东盟国家大多仍在欧三摩托车标准阶段。

对于汽油燃料质量,Wangwongwatana表示:东盟国家大多保持在50ppm以下(含50ppm),只有新加坡使用硫含量超低<10 ppm的汽油和柴油。

标准和执行无疑是改善燃料质量和排放性能的最佳方法。但是,亚洲的执行具有挑战性。Wangwongwatana说:政府通常“更多地关注社会经济发展而不是环境”。他还强调缺乏公众意识、车辆排放测试能力不足以及该地区缺乏数据等问题。

Wangwongwatana认为,泰国“可能是东盟第二个考虑实施超低硫10 ppm和欧六汽车排放标准的国家”。尽管拟议的路线图正在等待泰国政府的批准。根据该路线图,2023年1月1日之前推广使用超低硫燃料,2029年对轻型车辆执行欧六排放标准,但重载车辆执行该标准的时间“非常靠后”。他认为,选择直接从欧四跳到欧六标准的“可能性很大”。

目前,其他东盟成员国没有过渡到欧六标准的积极路线图,也没有关于该地区无烟煤运输的计划。Wangwongwatana说:无烟标准越早落实,从全球气候的角度对提供所需的产品就越有利。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Q1

Quarter One 2019, Volume 25, Issue 1

Click to view


ExxonMobil | FLM Medium Tile | 300×300

ASEAN: A roadmap to Euro VI

东盟:欧六标准的路线图

ASEAN: A roadmap to Euro VI

When it comes to heat-trapping greenhouse gases, carbon dioxide (CO2) is public enemy number one. CO2 is widely considered the chief perpetrator in a well-publicised increase in our global temperature. Consequently, a substantial global effort is focused on reversing atmospheric CO2 levels to avert the worst impacts of future climate change.

Unfortunately, CO2 has an extremely long atmospheric lifetime. Abrupt changes to our CO2 inducing practices are not going to magically alleviate the predicament we find ourselves in. It can take several decades for CO2 concentrations to begin to stabilise, even after we lower our emissions levels.

The good news is, while CO2 hangs around for years, there is an opportunity in the immediate term to impact global temperature increases.

A lesser-known but more potent contaminant, black carbon, is produced by the incomplete combustion of fossil fuels, biofuels, and biomass. After CO2, it is the second largest contributor to human-induced climate warming. Black carbon particles have a lifespan in the atmosphere of only a few weeks, so reductions to black carbon emissions can have a more immediate impact on reducing climate warming, as well as a plethora of other public health benefits.

Josh Miller
Josh Miller

Josh Miller, senior researcher at the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT) says the opportunity to reduce warming over the next 30 years is mostly attributable to the reduction of short-lived climate pollutants (SLCP), which include black carbon, methane, ground-level ozone, and HFCs. Miller has six years of experience working with governments to address air pollution from vehicles and fuels and currently leads ICCT’s activities in the G20 Transport Task Group.

Speaking at the 10th Better Air Quality Conference in Kuching, Malaysia on 14 November 2018, on Implementing Euro 4/IV and Developing a Roadmap to Euro 6/VI in Asia, Miller suggested reducing black carbon in combination with other SLCPs could yield a temperature benefit of half a degree Celsius.

The transport sector is responsible for 19% of black carbon emissions, with diesel engines a principal contributor. The particles themselves strongly absorb sunlight and give soot its blackness. Despite the reputation of diesel vehicles taking a hit after the recent dieselgate scandal, and diesel sales in Europe plunging, demand for diesel in road transport remains strong around the world.

Most diesel vehicles sold in Europe and the rest of the world are passenger cars, yet the biggest issue with respect to black carbon is from heavy-duty. More than three quarters of on-road diesel vehicle energy use and black carbon is from heavy-duty vehicles, says Miller. It is a “huge issue in all countries that have freight sectors primarily driven by diesel and countries that have diesel operated bus fleets,” he says.

I have some more good news for you. We already possess the necessary technology to eliminate 99% of black carbon and fine particles from diesel vehicles, such as diesel particulate filters. In fact, 40% of new heavy-duty diesel vehicle sales are aligned with world-class emissions standards.

The Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) is a voluntary partnership of governments, intergovernmental organizations, businesses, scientific institutions and civil society organizations. CCAC is focused on improving air quality by tackling short-lived climate pollutants.

The Heavy-Duty Vehicles Initiative, founded by the CCAC, is pressing to achieve major reductions in black carbon through the adoption of clean fuel and vehicle regulations, with a primary focus on diesel black carbon.

Miller highlighted that fuel sulphur standards and cleaner vehicles are an important lever in minimising black carbon emissions. Many OECD economies have dramatically lowered heavy-duty diesel vehicle fine particulate matter and black carbon emissions through ultra-low sulphur diesel fuel and diesel emission control technologies. Unfortunately, the global balance of black carbon emissions has shifted to countries yet to adopt soot-free standards — many of whom are in Asia.

Singapore CBD subject to Euro VI standards.
Photo courtesy of Basile Morin.

During a December 2016 CCAC High-Level Assembly, 36 countries officially endorsed a global strategy to address particulate and black carbon emissions. The goal, for all countries, is to attain low sulphur fuels (<50 ppm) by 2025, and for most countries to reach ultra-low sulphur (<10 ppm), both in diesel and petrol, by 2030. The availability of 10 ppm sulphur fuels allows the introduction of globally accepted European emission standards. The coalition believes a 7.1 million tonne reduction in cumulative black carbon emissions is achievable by 2050 based on these accomplishments. However, currently fewer than 70 countries have the ultra-low sulphur fuel required, says Miller.

Notwithstanding this global strategy and the availability of appropriate technology, there is a need for ASEAN countries to ensure low-sulphur fuels are available for advanced emission control. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a regional intergovernmental organization comprising 11 Southeast Asian countries including Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, East Timor, Laos, Singapore, Vietnam, Brunei, Myanmar (Burma) and Thailand.

Supat Wangwongwatana, a consultant at Thailand’s Asian Institute of Technology, provided an update on the roadmap for the ASEAN region to achieve ultra-low sulphur fuels and Euro VI standards. ASEAN standards, he says, range from Euro I (or even pre-Euro) to Euro VI. Singapore is the clear frontrunner, having already implemented Euro VI in 2017.

Petrol is ahead of diesel from a standards perspective. Half of ASEAN countries are already at Euro IV for light duty petrol vehicles in 2018, says Wangwongwatana. While Singapore is way out in front, Thailand is implementing Euro IV at the moment. The near-term target is for ASEAN countries to achieve Euro IV by January 2020, except Brunei which is planning Euro II.

Supat Watwongwatana
Supat Watwongwatana

From a diesel vehicle perspective, most ASEAN countries remain on Euro II or III emissions standards. Again, Singapore is ahead (Euro VI), and Thailand moves to Euro IV for light duty, while heavy-duty remains at Euro III. Most of ASEAN are implementing Euro III motorcycle standards, says Wangwongwatana, though Thailand has started enforcement of Euro IV standards for motorcycles in 2018.

On petrol fuel quality, Wangwongwatana says most of the ASEAN nations remain at 50 ppm or lower, but only Singapore boasts ultra-low sulphur of <10 ppm for both petrol and diesel.

Standards and enforcement are surely the best way forward in improving fuel quality and emissions performance. However, enforcement in Asia is challenging. Governments are generally “still focused more on socio-economic development rather than the environment,” says Wangwongwatana. He also emphasised a lack of public awareness, shortage of vehicle emissions testing capability, and a lack of data in the region.

Thailand will “probably be the second country in ASEAN to look at the implementation of ultra-low sulphur 10 ppm and the Euro VI vehicle emissions standard,” says Wangwongwatana, though a proposed roadmap is awaiting endorsement from the Thai government. The proposal includes ultra-low sulphur fuel by 1 January 2023, and a roadmap to Euro VI in 2029 for light duty, with heavy duty “much later.” The option of leapfrogging directly from Euro IV to Euro VI is a “high possibility,” he says.

At this point, there is no active roadmap for other ASEAN members to transition to Euro VI and no agenda on soot-free transport in the region. The sooner we can achieve soot-free standards the higher the likelihood we can deliver what is needed from a global climate perspective, says Wangwongwatana.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom