道达尔集团的战略与展望:“引领创新之路”

Total Group strategy & outlook: “Leading the way on innovation”

Total Group strategy & outlook: “Leading the way on innovation”
Photo courtesy of Roussel Marc - TOTAL.
2018年9月25日,道达尔集团董事长兼首席执行官Patrick Pouyanné和首席财务官Patrick de La Chevardière主要向投资者公布了法国能源战略和前景。前景描绘了公司的强劲表现,继续超出预期,道达尔的高管们称其“一如既往地强劲”。

道达尔宣布产量增速“同类最佳”,预计2017~2022年的复合年增长率(CAGR)为5%,截止到2020年的复合年增长率略高于6-7%。顶层石油和天然气公司也强调了下游业务,凭借强劲的赚取现金能力持续盈利。

这家法国跨国公司将其健康发展归功于“增加产量的同时严格控制成本。”该公司报告称,2017年的运营和资本成本节省4亿美元,目标是到2020年节省10亿美元。与大型供应商的捆绑合同创造了经济规模,目前采购中有40%在全球范围内进行谈判。高管还将2018~2020年的投资水平定为每年150亿~170亿美元,同时将“反周期地管理投资组合以强化现金流和盈利能力”作为持续绩效的核心要素。

道达尔的业务遍及130多个国家。道达尔表示,良好的成本环境有助于实施新项目,为未来的发展做好准备。大量的后备产能创造了买方市场,同时开辟了新的供货选项。

这种令人印象深刻的业绩前景令道达尔股东精神一振。但同样重要的是公司“引领创新之路”的意愿。该战略强调对现代化的兴趣,最值得注意的是:在工业数字、数字营销和开放式创新项目领域利用新技术,以及气候都纳入道达尔“将预期市场趋势考虑在内”的整体战略。

道达尔的明确目标是“保持核心优势和市场份额不断增长并成为一个负责任的能源公司”。作为这一转型的一部分,道达尔将寻求开发可盈利且规模较大的低碳电力业务,重点放在盈亏分界点较低的石油项目上,并继续沿着整个天然气综合价值链扩张。作为不断增长的天然气市场的领导者,道达尔是全球第二大液化天然气企业,估计到2020年产量将达到4000万吨/年(Mt/y),所占市场份额将达到10%。该公司正在瞄准天然气用于公路运输的机会,同时开发用于海上运输的液化天然气船用燃料。

Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.
Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.


2010年以来,道达尔在生产经营方面减排30%的温室气体。展望未来,该公司已宣布将2015年至2030年的能源销售碳强度降低15%的目标。随着新技术的采用,到2040年可能进一步减排25~35%。为保持对环境工作的关注,道达尔已更新其报告结构,新增了“综合天然气、可再生能源和电力(iGRP)”板块和碳强度指标。

2018年道达尔收购了法国能源零售商Digital Energie后,增加了天然气-电力价值链业务,同时填补了数字化专业知识,建立了可盈利的低碳业务。Digital Energie采用了低价数字化模式,大约300万客户只有320名员工为其提供服务,客户取得成本极低—不足80欧元(90美元)。

道达尔每年生产240万吨生物燃料,是欧洲领先的生物燃料经销商。道达尔的高管们强调了该公司在下一代生物燃料(BioTfuel)方面的强大研发工作,希望继续对其碳氢化合物产品进行低碳处理。

Total Energy Ventures是道达尔的企业风险投资部门,负责发掘有助于公司低碳目标的有价值的初创投资机会。

道达尔表示,只有使用碳汇法才能在本世纪下半叶实现零排放的艰巨任务。该公司表示,它仍然积极参与碳捕获、利用与封存(CCUS)方案的制定,并期待“通过开放式创新加快CCUS技术的部署”。

Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.
Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.


与挪威国家石油公司(Equinor)和壳牌公司(Shell)合作的挪威北极光计划项目,其目标是第一阶段每年150万吨的碳运输和封存能力,并有可能在欧洲其他地方制定出商业规模方案。

除了更加关注气候变化之外,两位高管还强调了提高道达尔业务效率的数字化举措。在工业数字化领域,机器人技术是公司安全和财务改进的关键因素。道达尔已采用检查机器人检测设备故障、不需要表面支持的自动水下车辆进行管道检查。潜艇机器人提供自动滑翔机技术,可降低海洋探测成本。使用地震无人机,可高密度、高质量地采集地震数据。该能源公司表示,它的目标是使用机器人技术降低20%的成本。

道达尔与互联网巨头谷歌进行合作,旨在培养人工智能能力并提高地球科学的效率。美国加利福尼亚州桑尼维尔市的30位专家,在为实现加速数据处理的目标而共同努力—将工作量重新部署到高价值任务中。道达尔表示,与谷歌合作伙伴关系有可能扩展到其他领域。

印度的数字创新中心是提高炼油厂运营效率的一部分。法国Donges炼油厂的一个试点项目正在寻求通过利用工业“物联网”和云技术建立先进的生产管理系统,并以此改进实时监控、报告和优化。

Photo courtesy of Laurent Pascal - TOTAL
Photo courtesy of Laurent Pascal - TOTAL.


在工业数字领域,道达尔将专注于通过协作和技术降低成本。整个公司部署了25个智能房间,提供合作技术环境、改善数据访问、更快速地解决问题,并对旋转设备、钻井作业和计量方面扫除故障。

在数字移动领域,Total Wallet是一种数字解决方案,客户从用手机充值并购买物品。按照预定目标,到2018年底欧洲将扩建至1,000个站点。2018年7月收购了法国里尔WayKonect—一家为企业车队提供数字化管理工具的公司。该并购推动了道达尔的数字化B2B车队管理业务。WayKonect提供主动车辆管理和创新审计工具,具备评估和优化车队中每个车辆的二氧化碳排放的能力。

在与九家主要能源公司的联合倡议中,道达尔的战略与展望内提及用区块链技术、提高交易效率,最初为交易成本收益的20%。公司认为该技术还能提供二氧化碳跟踪和客户数据管理的额外机会。

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine Quarter 2 2019

Quarter Two 2019, Volume 25, Issue 2

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom

Total Group strategy & outlook: “Leading the way on innovation”

道达尔集团的战略与展望:“引领创新之路”

Total Group strategy & outlook: “Leading the way on innovation”
Photo courtesy of Roussel Marc - TOTAL.

On 25 September 2018, Patrick Pouyanné, chairman and chief executive officer of Total Group, and Patrick de La Chevardière, chief financial officer, unveiled the strategy and outlook of the French energy major to investors. The outlook charted the company’s robust performance, continuing to exceed expectations, or as the Total executives termed it “consistently delivering.”

Total proclaimed “best-in-class” production growth with a forecast 5% compound annual growth rate (CAGR) from 2017-2022, and a slightly higher 6-7% CAGR through to 2020. The top-tier oil and gas company also highlighted a downstream business that continues to deliver profitability with robust cash generation.

The French multinational attributes its healthy performance to “strong discipline on costs while growing production.” The company reported USD400 million operational and capital cost savings in 2017, with a target of USD1 billion savings by 2020. Bundling contracts with major vendors has created economies of scale, with 40% of procurement now negotiated globally. The executives also credited discipline on capital investments of USD15-17 billion per year from 2018-20, and “managing portfolio counter cyclically to increase cash flow and profitability,” as central elements to ongoing performance.

With operations in more than 130 countries, Total says a favourable cost environment is helpful in sanctioning new projects to prepare for future growth. Large volumes of spare capacity have created a buyers’ market and opened new supply options.

This impressive performance outlook is no doubt music to the ears of Total shareholders. However, perhaps equally important is the company’s aspiration of “leading the way on innovation.” The strategy emphasised an appetite for modernisation — most notably, leveraging new technologies in the fields of industrial digital, digital marketing and open innovation projects — alongside the integration of climate into Total’s overall strategy to “take into account anticipated market trends.”

A stated objective is “building a responsible energy company on core strengths and growing markets.” As part of this transition, Total will look to develop a profitable and sizeable low carbon electricity business, direct its focus to low breakeven oil projects, and continue to expand along the full gas integrated value chain. Already a market leader in a growing gas market, Total is the second biggest global LNG player with an estimated portfolio of 40 million tons/year (Mt/y) by 2020 and 10% market share. The company is eyeing opportunities in natural gas for road transportation and is looking to pioneering LNG bunker fuel for marine transportation.

Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.
Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT – Graphix Images – TOTAL.

A 30% reduction of greenhouse gas emissions has been achieved by Total since 2010 on operated production. Moving forward, the company has announced a target to reduce the carbon intensity of energy sales by 15% from 2015 to 2030, with a further possible reduction of 25-35% by 2040 as new technologies become available. To maintain focus on environmental efforts, Total has updated its reporting structure to include a new segment called “Integrated Gas, Renewables and Power (iGRP)” and a Carbon Intensity Indicator.

The 2011 investment in SunPower provided an early hedge against an increasingly fossil-free future, as it looks to develop a low carbon electricity business. By 2023, Total is targeting 15% business to consumer (B2C) market share in marketing electricity in France and Belgium, currently 6% and 9% respectively.

The acquisition of French energy retailer Digital Energie in 2018 continues to expand Total’s business along the gas-electricity value chain and provides added digital expertise to build a profitable low carbon business. Digital Energie operates a low-price digital model, with only 320 employees for approximately three million customers, and an extremely efficient customer cost of acquisition of under EUR80 (USD90).

Producing 2.4 Mt/y, Total is the leading biofuel distributor in Europe. Total executives highlighted the company’s strong R&D efforts in next-generation biofuels (BioTfuel) as they look to continue to decarbonise their hydrocarbon products.

Total Energy Ventures, the corporate venture arm of Total, is responsible for identifying worthy start-up investment opportunities that can contribute to the company’s low carbon aspirations.

Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT - Graphix Images - TOTAL.
Photo courtesy of Zylberman LAURENT – Graphix Images – TOTAL.

The difficult task of reaching zero net emissions by the second half of the century is only achievable with the employment of carbon sinks, says Total. The company says it remains active in research and development on carbon capture, storage and utilization (CCUS) solutions and is looking to “accelerate deployment of CCUS technologies through open innovation.”

The ambitious Northern Lights project in Norway, a partnership with Equinor and Shell, is targeting a carbon transportation and storage capacity of 1.5 million tons per year for phase 1, with the potential to develop commercial-scale solutions elsewhere in Europe moving forward.

Outside of a heightened focus on climate change, the two executives highlighted a variety of digital initiatives to improve the efficiency of Total’s business. In the field of industrial digital, robotics is a key contributor to the company’s safety and financial improvements. Total is already employing inspection robots to detect equipment failures, autonomous underwater vehicles for pipeline inspections with no surface support. Submarine robots provide autonomous glider technology for low-cost ocean exploration, and the use of seismic drones allows high density and high-quality seismic data acquisition. The energy company says it is targeting cost reductions of 20% using robotic technology.

A partnership with internet powerhouse Google aims to develop artificial intelligence capability and improve efficiency in Geoscience. Thirty experts in Sunnyvale, California, U.S.A., are working towards the goal of accelerated data treatment — to enable the redeployment of workload to high-value tasks. There is potential to expand the Google partnership to other domains, suggests Total.

A Digital Innovation Center in India is part of an effort to improve the efficiency of refinery operations. A pilot project in the Donges refinery in France is looking to establish an advanced production management system by leveraging the Industrial ‘internet of things’ and cloud technology — to improve real-time monitoring, reporting and optimisation.

Photo courtesy of Laurent Pascal - TOTAL
Photo courtesy of Laurent Pascal – TOTAL.

Also, in the area of industrial digital — Total cited a dedicated effort to reduce costs through collaboration and technology. 25 Smart Rooms have been deployed across the company to provide cooperative technological environments for improved access to data, swifter problem solving and troubleshooting in the areas of rotating equipment, drilling operations and metering.

In the area of digital mobility, Total Wallet, a digital solution that allows customers to fill up and purchase items from their mobile, is targeting expansion to 1,000 stations in Europe by the end of 2018. The July 2018 acquisition of Lille, France-based company WayKonect, a provider of digital management tools for corporate vehicle fleets, has also boosted Total’s digitalised B2B fleet management offering. WayKonect provides proactive vehicle management and innovative auditing tools that include the ability to evaluate and optimise CO2 emissions for individual vehicles in a fleet.

In a joint initiative with nine major energy companies, Total’s Strategy & Outlook outlined the use of blockchain technology to improve trading efficiency, citing an initial -20% trading cost gain. The company also believes the technology could provide additional opportunities in CO2 tracking and customer data management.

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
300x600wechat

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Q1

Quarter One 2019, Volume 25, Issue 1

Click to view


300X300-flo-bottom