棕榈生物柴油不再是欧盟的“绿色燃料”

Palm oil-derived biodiesel no longer a “green fuel” in the EU

Palm oil-derived biodiesel no longer a “green fuel” in the EU
全球每年棕榈油产量约为6300万吨。欧盟(EU)是世界上第二大原棕油进口地区。但您知道, 进口到欧盟的棕榈油有50%以上(约400万吨)用于制造所谓的“绿色”燃料吗?

2018年6月,欧盟就《欧盟可再生能源指令(REDII)》达成一致。该指令用于监管欧盟区域内生物燃料的使用。其中有一项规定要求欧盟委员会就如何确定高和低间接土地利用变化(ILUC)风险的生物燃料提出一种方法/准则。那些被评定为“高ILUC风险”的生物燃料不能超过每个国家2019年的消费水平,从2023年起应该逐渐减少,直到2030年降为0%。该准则规定棕榈油生物柴油被认为是高ILUC风险,将大豆生物柴油等其他有害生物柴油排除在高ILUC的范畴之外。此外,REDII于2018年12月正式通过,为所有以食品为基础的生物燃料设定了国家限制,但各国不能将以食品为基础的生物燃料计算为超出其国家限制的可再生能源目标。

该新法律还废除了2020年后基于食品的生物燃料的目标。这意味着欧洲国家不再为实现欧盟2030年的绿色能源目标而被迫补贴基于食品的生物燃料。对于先进燃料,该新法律设定了7%的实际目标。其中一半是来自废弃物和残留物的先进生物燃料,而其余的则预计将来自可再生电力和其他燃料。

Lifecycle GHG emissions from Globiom and Renewable Energy Directive, Transport & Environment由原始植物油制成的生物柴油是目前欧洲最受欢迎和最便宜的生物燃料,2017年所占的市场份额超过四分之三。根据欧洲绿色运输非政府联合组织—运输与环境联合会(T&E)的一项题为《全球生物圈管理模型(GLOBIOM):2020年后生物燃料政策的基础》的研究报告,在所有生物柴油中棕榈油排放的温室气体量最高—是石油基柴油燃料排放温室气体量的三倍。该研究报告基于欧盟委员会能源总司委托的一项研究,发布于2016年4月[1]

在报告中,T&E将Globiom(见脚注1)对不同生物燃料原料的间接土地利用变化排放的不同数据与国际粮食政策研究所(IFPRI)作了比较。结论认为生物燃料的间接土地利用变化显著,而且多数情况下比化石燃料糟糕(所有生物柴油都是如此)。与作为RED修订依据的IFPRI研究结果相比,Globiom报告仅计算欧洲对生物燃料的额外需求而产生的土地利用变化(LUC)排放量。但根据T&E的说法,这样计算更为详细,并提供更多“细节”。

科学家们将东南亚和全球的种植跟不上森林砍伐和泥炭地排水联系起来,充分证明了棕榈油的破坏性。根据《世界自然保护联盟濒危物种红色名录》,全球棕榈油生产不仅是193种极度濒危和脆弱物种的主要威胁之一,而且森林砍伐对抗气候变化方面也会产生严重后果。当森林被砍伐、泥炭地被排干时,储存在树木和土壤中的二氧化碳会被释放到大气中,进而导致全球变暖。

因此,欧盟委员会决定在2019年3月13日将棕榈油标记为“不可持续”而非绿色燃料。尽管有注意事项,但运输与环境联合会将其视为一个里程碑。欧盟《可再生能源指令》出台的初衷是加速太阳能和风能等可再生能源的使用,但该指令的运输章节加强了棕榈油、菜籽油和豆油等粮食作物的推广应用于制造所谓的第一代生物燃料。

该委员会宣布一项确定生物燃料的高间接土地利用变化风险原料的授权法案,是早前REDII的附录。该授权法案规定了对于确定高ILUC风险的原料,其中“观察到将生产区显著扩大为高碳储量土地”,以及低ILUC风险的生物燃料、生物液体和生物燃料的具体准则。

授权法案是具有法律约束力的,该委员会可用以补充或修订欧盟立法法案的非重要部分,例如,为了确定详细措施。该委员会通过了授权法案,如果议会和理事会没有异议,该法案即生效。

近年来,在欧盟可再生能源目标的支持下,棕榈油在柴油燃料中的用量有所增加。

毋庸置疑,欧盟最近采取的行动具有政治敏感性。马来西亚是世界上仅次于印度尼西亚的第二大棕榈油生产国,其产量占全球40%。今年1月,马来西亚食用油营销机构表示,限制使用棕榈油的提案违反了全球贸易规则,同时缺乏全面的科学证据。马来西亚棕榈油委员会(MPOC)还指责欧盟有选择地选择其数据参考期,以证明与其他作物(如小麦、玉米和大豆)相比,棕榈油的增长比例过高。

授权法案中规定了若干豁免情形,例如低ILUC类别仍允许使用棕榈油生物柴油,以及未将大豆列为不可持续类别。欧盟委员会对高碳库存区域的“显著”扩增设定了10%的门槛。根据影响评估,棕榈油的增长率为45%,而豆油的增长率为8%。由此可知,豆油并未被限制。

Palm oil samples
Photo courtesy of T.K. Naliaka


如果棕榈油生产是现有土地或“废弃”土地上产量增加的结果,那么棕榈油生产仍然具有可持续性。尽管仍然受到国家级食品生物燃料限制。该法案还包括为土地面积小于两公顷的独立小农提供可持续发展的条款。不过,独立分析表明,这些漏洞在环境上是不合理的。

授权法案要求委员会于2021年6月30日之前进行审查,包括评估与小块土地所有者的条款有关的因素以及向高碳储存区扩张的数据修订,并在需要时有机会修改该监管规定。

印度尼西亚也不会轻易接受欧盟的决定,该国经济协调部称此举是“一种歧视”,并表示他们将挑战世界贸易组织(WTO)的这一决定。印尼政府对欧盟对碳排放所做的风险评估提出异议,认为该变化是为寻求当地欧盟商品(如菜籽油)的优势,政治动机很明显。印度尼西亚政府还计划游说欧盟成员国拒绝该授权法案。

马来西亚表示其可能会对欧洲出口实施报复性行动,以打击所谓的“激进的保护主义措施”。



[1] https://ec.europa.eu/energy/sites/ener/files/documents/Final%20Report_GLOBIOM_publication.pdf

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2020 Early Bird | Medium Tile | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2019, Volume 25, Issue 4

Click to view

Palm oil-derived biodiesel no longer a “green fuel” in the EU

棕榈生物柴油不再是欧盟的“绿色燃料”

Palm oil-derived biodiesel no longer a “green fuel” in the EU

Global palm oil production is approximately 63 million tonnes per year. The European Union (EU) is the second largest importer of crude palm oil in the world. But did you know that more than 50% of palm oil imported into the EU, approximately four million tonnes, is used to make so-called “green” fuel?

In June 2018, the EU agreed on the Renewable Energy Directive (REDII) which regulates the use of biofuels in the EU. There was a provision in it mandating the EU Commission to propose a methodology/criteria to identify high and low ILUC (indirect land use change) risk biofuels. Those biofuels qualified as ‘high-ILUC risk’ cannot grow above each country’s 2019 consumption levels and should gradually decrease from 2023 onwards, until reaching 0% in 2030. The criteria sets that palm oil biodiesel is considered high-ILUC risk, leaving other harmful biodiesels such as soy biodiesel out of the category of high-ILUC. Furthermore, the REDII, formally adopted in December 2018, sets national limits for all food-based biofuels. While the limits do not prohibit member states from importing and use of these fuels, countries can’t count food-based biofuels for the renewable energy targets beyond their national limits.

The new law also scraps the target for food-based biofuels after 2020. This means that European countries are no longer forced to subsidise food-based biofuels in order to meet EU’s green energy targets for 2030. For advanced fuels, the new law sets a de facto target of 7%. Half of that will need to come from advanced biofuels from waste and residues whilst the rest is expected to come from renewable electricity and other fuels.

Lifecycle GHG emissions from Globiom and Renewable Energy Directive, Transport & EnvironmentBiodiesel made from virgin vegetable oil is the most popular and cheapest biofuel currently available in Europe, representing a market share of more than three-quarters in 2017. Of all biodiesel, palm oil has the highest greenhouse gas emissions — three times the emissions of petroleum-based diesel fuel, according to a study by Europe’s federation of green transport NGOs Transport & Environment (T&E) entitled “Globiom: the basis for biofuel policy post-2020,” which was based on a study commissioned by the EU Commission’s DG Energy [1], published in April 2016.

In the report, T&E compared the different figures for indirect land use change emissions for different biofuel feedstocks as per Globiom (see footnote 1), with that of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), which concluded that indirect land-use change of biofuels was significant and in many cases worse than fossil fuel (as is the case for all biodiesel). In contrast to the IFPRI study, which was the basis for the revised RED, the Globiom report only calculates land-use change (LUC) emissions resulting from additional demand for biofuels in Europe. But it is more detailed and offers more “refinement,” according to T&E.

The destructiveness of palm oil is well documented, with scientists linking the cultivation to faster deforestation and peatland drainage in Southeast Asia and around the globe. Not only is global palm oil production one of the main threats for 193 critically endangered, endangered and vulnerable species, according to the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, but deforestation also has severe consequences in the battle against climate change. The carbon dioxide stored in trees and soil is released into the atmosphere when forests are cut down and peatlands are drained, and contributes to global warming.

Thus, the European Commission’s decision to label palm oil as “unsustainable” and not a green fuel on 13 March 2019 was considered by Transport & Environment as a milestone, although with caveats. Originally, the EU’s Renewable Energy Directive was introduced to accelerate the uptake of renewables such as solar and wind, but its transport chapter has promoted the use of food crops like palm oil, rapeseed oil and soybean oil, to make so-called first generation biofuels.

The Commission’s announcement of a delegated act identifying high indirect land use change risk feedstock for biofuels is an addendum to the earlier REDII. The delegated act sets specific criteria for both determining high ILUC-risk feedstock where “a significant expansion of the production area into land with high-carbon stock is observed” and low ILUCrisk biofuels, bioliquids and biomass fuels.

Delegated acts are legally binding acts that enable the Commission to supplement or amend non-essential parts of EU legislative acts, for example, in order to define detailed measures. The Commission adopts the delegated act and if Parliament and Council have no objections, it enters into force.

The use of palm oil in diesel fuel had grown in recent years off the back of the EU’s renewable energy targets.

Needless to say, the EU’s recent move is politically sensitive. Malaysia is the second largest palm oil-producing country in the world, behind Indonesia, and accounts for 40% of global production. In January, Malaysia’s marketing agency for the edible oil said the proposal to limit the use of palm oil breached global trade rules and lacked comprehensive scientific evidence. The Malaysian Palm Oil Council (MPOC) also accused the EU of selectively choosing their data reference period to demonstrate disproportionate growth in palm oil compared to other crops such as wheat, maize and soybeans.

The delegated act includes several exemptions, for instance the low-ILUC category that still allows for some palm oil biodiesel, and the failure to classify soy as unsustainable. The EU Commission set a threshold on what’s considered ‘significant’ expansion into high-carbon stock areas at 10%. Palm oil’s expansion was 45%, whereas soybean oil’s expansion is 8%, based on the impact assessment. Therefore, soybean oil did not make the cut.

Palm oil samples
Photo courtesy of T.K. Naliaka

If palm oil production is the consequence of yield increases on existing land or “abandoned” land it may still qualify as sustainable, although still capped under the national-based food biofuels limitations. The act also includes provision for independent smallholder farmers with plots of land smaller than two hectares to be classified as sustainable. Though, independent analysis has suggested these loopholes are not environmentally justifiable.

The delegated act requires a Commission review by 30 June 2021, including an appraisal of factors relating to the small holder’s provision and the revision of the expansion into high-carbon stock areas data, with an opportunity to amend the regulation if required.

Indonesia is not taking the EU’s decision lightly either, with the Coordinating Ministry for the Economy calling the move “a form of discrimination” and indicating they will challenge the decision at the World Trade Organisation (WTO). The Indonesian government disputes the EU’s risk assessment of carbon emissions, suggesting the change is politically motivated as it seeks advantages for local EU commodities such as rapeseed oil. The Indonesian Government also plans to lobby EU member states to reject the delegated act.

Malaysia has signalled it may implement retaliatory actions against European exports, to fight what it calls an “aggressive protectionist measure.”


[1] https://ec.europa.eu/energy/sites/ener/files/documents/Final%20Report_GLOBIOM_publication.pdf

You may also like

The Latest News.

Delivered Daily!

Sign up for FREE industry updates.
First with the latest. F+L Daily. Sent to your inbox Everyday.
F+L Week 2020 Early Bird | Medium Tile | 300×300

F+L Magazine Digital Edition

F+L Magazine 2019 Quarter 4

Quarter Four 2019, Volume 25, Issue 4

Click to view