Home / FLO / AFPM Safety Awards honor outstanding workplace safety

AFPM Safety Awards honor outstanding workplace safety

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (AFPM) has announced the recipients of the 2017 Annual Safety Awards, part of an ongoing mission to improve and recognize outstanding workplace safety. The awards are part of a comprehensive program developed by the AFPM Safety and Health Committee to promote safe operations in the refining and petrochemical industries and to recognize facilities with outstanding occupational and process safety records.

“In our industries, safety is paramount, and something in which we take great pride and hold ourselves to the highest standards,” Chet Thompson, president and CEO of AFPM noted. He added, “The U.S. refining and petrochemical industries continue to have the lowest rates of injury and illness among major industrial sectors and are leading the way in process safety innovation and practices. The recipients represent leaders within our industries, and we are pleased to acknowledge these facilities for their excellent safety records, proactive programs, and impressive safety cultures. These safety awards recognize their outstanding work and exemplify the gold standard for others to emulate.”

This year’s most prominent award, the 2017 Distinguished Safety Award, has been awarded to three facilities: the ExxonMobil Chemical Company-Baytown Chemical Plant, the LyondellBasell Industries-Bayport Complex, and the Phillips 66-Bayway Refinery.

The Elite Gold Award, which recognizes facilities with safety performance in the top one percentile, went to the LyondellBasell Industries-Chocolate Bayou Polymers Facility, the LyondellBasell Industries-Clinton Complex, and the Phillips 66-Sweeny Refinery.

Eleven facilities received an Elite Silver Award, which recognizes facilities with safety performance in the top five percentile of the industry:

  • Andeavor-Dickinson Refinery
  • Andeavor-Mandan Refinery
  • Chevron Phillips Chemical Company-Drilling Specialties Conroe Plant
  • Chevron Phillips Chemical Company-Port Arthur Plant
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company-Pensacola Specialty Elastomers Plant
  • LyondellBasell Industries-Edison Catalyst Manufacturing;
  • LyondellBasell Industries-Equistar Chemicals-Victoria Site
  • Phillips 66-Alliance Refinery
  • Phillips 66-Wood River Refinery
  • Valero Refining Company-McKee Refinery
  • Valero Refining Company-Wilmington Asphalt Plant

“Our industries’ facilities are among the safest workplaces in the nation and I am very proud of their outstanding commitment to safety and the important example they set,” Thompson concluded.

About AFPM

The American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers (“AFPM”) is a national trade association whose members comprise virtually all U.S. refining and petrochemical manufacturing capacity.